.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > POD-Bot mm > Releases, Installers, Docs & Coding
Releases, Installers, Docs & Coding Where the official development happens

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#511)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 15-04-2004

I know. From my experience restarting is only good when you too many things are too messed up or should be done in a different way.

I think by changing the pod source by starting all over again, will actually make a total new bot. So in that case you should not call it a POD off-spring anymore.


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#512)
Terran
Member
 
Terran's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 431
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 16-04-2004

As there is a great interesst in podbot26mm maybe it deserves it's own forum?
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#513)
SoUlFaThEr
Moderator
 
SoUlFaThEr's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 860
Join Date: Mar 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 16-04-2004

not really because its a metamod plugin in essence


  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#514)
Terran
Member
 
Terran's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 431
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 16-04-2004

Some other bots are MetaMod plugins too - and they have their own forum
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#515)
kedat
Member
 
kedat's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 16-04-2004

Just downloaded podbot_sdk, and have few questions:
  1. Why compiled (Release) metamod.dll 608KB while the one on the net takes 1,333KB?
  2. Why compiled (Release) podbot_mm.dll 252KB and PMB is 244KB?
  3. I get warning(C4554) on podbot line:
Code:
  if ((pBot->vecGrenade == g_vecZero) || (BotGetSafeTask (pBot)->fTime < gpGlobals->time)
 		  || (pEdict->v.weapons & (1 << CS_WEAPON_FLASHBANG) == 0))
problem is:
Code:
(pEdict->v.weapons & (1 << CS_WEAPON_FLASHBANG) == 0
is it:
Code:
 if ((pBot->vecGrenade == g_vecZero) || (BotGetSafeTask (pBot)->fTime < gpGlobals->time) 
 		  || (pEdict->v.weapons & ((1 << CS_WEAPON_FLASHBANG) == 0)))
?
I have VS PRO 2003 (7.1). All settings left untouched
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#516)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 16-04-2004

1. The official metamod is cross-compiled by GCC on Linux for Windows, and perhaps it's compiled with Unicode strings instead of plain ASCII, or perhaps it contains debug symbols.

2. Even with the same settings, different compilers produce different sizes for the output... Mine was compiled with VS Pro 6.

3. The correct code is rather
&& (pEdict->v.weapons & (1 << CS_WEAPON_FLASHBANG) == 0))
You forgot the last parenthesises ; they are in the code.
It's not what you say btw ; the priorities are first for the '&', and then for the '==' ; hence it's rather
&& ((pEdict->v.weapons & (1 << CS_WEAPON_FLASHBANG)) == 0))
or if you want
&& !(pEdict->v.weapons & (1 << CS_WEAPON_FLASHBANG)))



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#517)
Terran
Member
 
Terran's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 431
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 16-04-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
1. The official metamod is cross-compiled by GCC on Linux for Windows, and perhaps it's compiled with Unicode strings instead of plain ASCII, or perhaps it contains debug symbols.
I havn't had a look at the POD-bot development kit, is the cross-compiling stuff included in the kit?
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#518)
Austin
Moderator
 
Austin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 403
Join Date: Nov 2003
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 17-04-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoUlFaThEr
my end wish for the button thing:

1. that the bots dont hit buttons at all unless a flagged waypoint is there.
2. that a button flag is no longer an automatic thing. it needs to be added to the menus in the waypoint editor so WE can place a button flag if theres REALLY a button a bot needs to hit... this is a huge problem solve!

Sound good?
Sounds great! That would solve many major bugs with the doors, would be backwards compatible with existing wps, and is easy easy to do!
I wish I had some time I would work on it tonight.
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#519)
sPlOrYgOn
<-- He did it.
 
sPlOrYgOn's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way.
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 17-04-2004

yes all we need now is for you or someone experienced like you to add in the code to look for and push a button when reaching a waypoint with that flag. I already made them stop pushing buttons at random and stopped the waypoint editor from adding it automaticly and added it to the change flag menu.
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#520)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 17-04-2004

@Terran: the original metamod Makefiles are still here, if that's what you want to know... but I somehow suspect that Will Day personally uses another versions of these Makefiles, because we tried cross-compiling metamod on the BU server but to no avail.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com