.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Enhancement Workshop > Others
Others Other tools and third-party plugins for your favourite games

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#11)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 09-12-2004

let's do it the other way around: zip all your tfc directory and send it here (my mailbox is in my sig). I want to see it crashing with my own eyes.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#12)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 09-12-2004

well guess what: it does not crash...



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#13)
Eddy Hassle
This user broke our rules and has been BANNED
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 09-12-2004

I figured that would be the outcome. Dam..
There's not really anything else to do then i guess..?

There was only 1 last thing that i thought of last night.
The old oddbot used to spit out any error message OR when you turned on bot_debug when waypointing, it would create a file called "odd_bot_errors.txt" to C:\SIERRA\Half-Life\
Maybe possible thats why it crashes for me??

Probably not though.. 9_9
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#14)
MarD
Waypointer/Moderator
 
MarD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,184
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada.. EH!?
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 09-12-2004

Heyyo,

Agh, I remember seeing your update on the calender, I've gotta remember to get it once I get home, gotta go old skool TFC 1.5. So hopefully today I remember and I'll give this a go once I get home. I'll even try my fav mode spys vs spys... lol, oh god the horror. I always got last place cause I was a big n00b at this before when I played it.


Later-a-much, and LONG LIVE THE D!,
(Link>>>MarD's Moddin' Site<<<Link) MarD

Rock Hound. (<Link)
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#15)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 09-12-2004

I'm clueless. I don't know what to do about it. I'd like feedback from other people.

I do not have a true dedicated server, I use the dedicated server from the Steam games list. The only difference with you perhaps is that my Steam apps are in D:\Steam and not C:\Program Files\Steam or whatever.

Eddy, do you have MS Visual C or some sort of compiler/debugger on your machine ?



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#16)
Eddy Hassle
This user broke our rules and has been BANNED
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 09-12-2004

I have MS Visual C++ 6.0 Standard Edition. I have no idea how to install it. I tried once but it wanted me to download some files. But i have no clue where to get them. It might as well be in a forgein language.. hehe

Or there's this - http://www.bloodshed.net/
But still wouldn't matter.. Totally clueless about these things..
You'd have to guide me through it.

-edit
I did a cd search & found that i also have Borland 55, i see a sub folder & it says Turbo Debugger..

Last edited by Eddy Hassle; 09-12-2004 at 20:38..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#17)
MarD
Waypointer/Moderator
 
MarD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,184
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada.. EH!?
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 10-12-2004

Heyyo,

I gave it a shot, and yep, crashed as soon as I tried to load any map... keep tryin' PMB, I'm sure you'll fix it soon.


Later-a-much, and LONG LIVE THE D!,
(Link>>>MarD's Moddin' Site<<<Link) MarD

Rock Hound. (<Link)
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#18)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 10-12-2004

Eddy, the only thing that could make me help you now I think, would be that you install MSVC 6, you grab the metamod SDK and the HL SDK from the filebase here, and you compile the bot DLL yourself. I can guide you how to do that. And then, once the game crashes and displays the message box, instead of clicking "OK" click "Debug". You will land in the middle of the bot code inside the debugger at the line that caused the crash.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#19)
Eddy Hassle
This user broke our rules and has been BANNED
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 11-12-2004

Quote:
install MSVC 6, you grab the metamod SDK and the HL SDK from the filebase here, and you compile the bot DLL yourself. I can guide you how to do that.
Ok, installed MSVC 6 & got all the sources. Now i need your help with the compile. I don't know what i am supposed to put in. I'll have a look around in the meantime, maybe i can figure it out. I think botman or somebody did a tutorial on it.?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: ODD_bot -> Steam
Old
  (#20)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: ODD_bot -> Steam - 11-12-2004

OK, also, please download the bot again from the filebase. I updated it and changed minor things in the source code. Test the new DLL, if it works then all good (but I doubt it), and if it doesn't put the new bot sources in place and open the DSP file. Right-click on the project in the left part of the window and choose "settings". Then in the C/C++ tab change the "additional include directories" to point to the folders containing the metamod source code and the SDK files. Then, hit F7 and watch the output.

If you need help on a particular point, get in touch with me via MSN.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com