.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > General Bot Coding
General Bot Coding See what a pain it is to get those little mechs shooting around

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Question
Old
  (#1)
Munckeyz
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Question - 04-10-2013

I am interested in making a bot for Team Fortress 2 that would essentially run the game on auto-pilot for me. I think it would be interesting to see how it would fare on an average online server, and to see if anyone picks up on it.

Now, I know next to nothing about coding, especially something as presumably complicated as an AI engine for a first-person shooter with such diverse classes (although I was thinking of somehow having a program that would pretty much replace me with one of the official integrated bots), so I would just like to know how I would even get started on doing something like this.

I would also be interested in making a similar type of program for any other first-person shooter games (preferably free ones), because like you all I am very enthused about artificial intelligence.

I realise this forum hasn't been posted on since the dark ages, but I thought it best to ask here anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#2)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,564
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: Question - 04-10-2013

You seems to know you have to learn coding to achieve your goal. So why are you asking a question that you know the answer?

You have to learn C++. Good book is C++ Primer.
After that you can read some publications about AI. There is pretty much on the net for that. Very interesting and complicated topic is navigation(A* and such).
Once you have at least lightly understanding of these things, you can start modifying existing bot sources to get more familiar with the things.

After that you can pick a game that have development SDK for plugins and start playing around.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#3)
Munckeyz
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Question - 06-10-2013

Is there any way to modify the code for Valve's TF2 bots so I could have it automate movement, aiming and shooting for me?

I will look for C++ Primer online.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#4)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,564
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: Question - 06-10-2013

Yea, just use the magic wand and done...

Come on man. Do you really thing is that simple?

There is always a way. The question is does it worth? As I said this is not simple stuff at all.
If I remember correct Valve released official TF2 bot integrated in the game. Sorry no sources but you can actually use them to play.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#5)
Munckeyz
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Question - 07-10-2013

The problem is that the stuff is so complicated and I'm really not sure where to begin with all this.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#6)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,564
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: Question - 10-10-2013

As I pointed out:

1. Learn some C++.
2. If you want to skip AI stuff you can download Source SDK and begin exploring code. Valve also have developers wiki.
3. Do simple bot plugin.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#7)
Munckeyz
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Question - 10-10-2013

Okay. Thank you for your help!
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#8)
Munckeyz
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Question - 19-11-2013

I'm still having trouble making this client-side bot; I've learned a little C++ but I still don't know what code to root around in Source SDK.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#9)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,564
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: Question - 19-11-2013

You can't create client side bot using the SDK. Actually here in our Bots-United community client side bots are not welcome(also mentioned in the rules). We support only server side bots, that can be used to play with you when there is no real players, not to play instead of you.

In the SDK there is sample bot source. Just check it out.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Question
Old
  (#10)
Munckeyz
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Question - 20-11-2013

Oh! My apologies, I guess I didn't read the rules thoroughly enough. Sorry about that. Is there any other forum I can ask about this stuff? Sorry to trouble you.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com