.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > YappA > The Agora
The Agora This is the place to go if you have suggestions, or if you want to participate in Council discussions. Everyone is welcome!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#11)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 03-05-2005

bleh, have you forgotten the RACC preview ? its navigation was better than those of MANY waypointed bots ! to speak like that you mustn't even have tried it I bet



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#12)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 03-05-2005

i still see that bsp approach as some way waypointed ... well, again, the waypoints are named surfaces and they have some sort of relation to each other, otherwise you couldnt run A* on it. so to me that falls into the category 'waypointed' and that's maybe the best way to go.

but we had this already in amsterdam


  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#13)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 03-05-2005

@ pmb, i was speaking in general Not about bots specific.

I did not try your preview long, i had it on my disk sometime, but as you know i do not test other bots very long at all.

BSP is some sort of waypointed ofcourse, since it uses eventually a 'chain' of information to get to positions (waypoints) to navigate through a map. (As asp said).

Totally unwaypointed is doable i guess, though it also requires some sort of memory system so a bot does not make mistakes often in U shaped rooms...


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#14)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 03-05-2005

Right now in Algebra 3 (don't know why the course is called that when its has nothing to do with algebra) we are learning about tree graphs, Prim's algorithm.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#15)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 03-05-2005

And while take a flick through my printed lecture notes I see something called Eulerian graphs, disjoint cycles, and vertex colouring. I guess I will have to wait for my lecturer to explain this, cause he gives us proofs and background then explains and gives examples during lectures.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#16)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 04-05-2005

@stefan and asp, I was talking of my bot before Amsterdam ; back then I was not using anything waypoint related (waypoints, navmesh, BSP stuff). The navigation was exclusively based on tracelines (FOV scan), and the bot could navigate de_dust and de_dust2 almost as well as the best bots at the moment. But yeah, right now the BSP stuff I'm making is totally waypoint related. It's been a big switch since Tub showed us that.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#17)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 04-05-2005

yes, i know, but back then you were thinking about memory nodes and you refused to see them as some sort of wp system

anyway, back to topic:

@lethal : maybe you could posts links to your lecture notes ( if there are any ) or scripts. might be interesting to take a look at them


  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#18)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 04-05-2005

I hope I don't in bother for this, oh well. He has them set to global so I suppose he doesn't mind anyone outside of uni taking a look at them;
Thats the base web site for students looking for thins to read : http://www.ma.hw.ac.uk/~markl/teaching/F11ME3/
And here is the lecture notes in pdf :
http://www.ma.hw.ac.uk/~markl/teachi...lgebra3lec.pdf
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#19)
Rifleman
This user broke our rules and has been BANNED
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 128
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mars
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 05-05-2005

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
bleh, have you forgotten the RACC preview ?
We didn't forget , but we cant get it :-/ . Maybe upload a copy into the filebase ?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#20)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 06-05-2005

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
@stefan and asp, I was talking of my bot before Amsterdam ; back then I was not using anything waypoint related (waypoints, navmesh, BSP stuff). The navigation was exclusively based on tracelines (FOV scan), and the bot could navigate de_dust and de_dust2 almost as well as the best bots at the moment. But yeah, right now the BSP stuff I'm making is totally waypoint related. It's been a big switch since Tub showed us that.
We should just for fun retry that one time... I think its not impossible to do it via that way. Using some sort of memory system.... so it will probably become some sort of waypointed, yet unwaypointed, navigation system. (since you do not rely on waypoints to create paths entirely... if you get what i mean)


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com