Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > YappA > Half-Life and HL1 Mods
Half-Life and HL1 Mods Discuss about your favourites HL1 Mods here Half-Life

Why always CS?
Old
  (#1)
HangFire
Best served chilled

Default Why always CS? - 09-01-2004

Why is it that most people choose to create a bot for CS, instead of one of the other HL mods? Theres piles of CS bots, yet many other good mods get no AI.

I guess its just due to CS's popularity. Oh well, better to have lots of good bots for only a couple of mods rather than no bots at all.

Re: Why always CS?
Old
  (#2)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France

Default Re: Why always CS? - 09-01-2004

Well this is a good question. Indeed why ? As a bot author myself, I tried several times to speak them and decide them to be more involved with other mods than CS, but I'm not sure they have listened to me. Still, I can attempt to give several reasons for this.

1. Bots like CS. It is a simple mod, with no complicated rules, there are the good and the bads and the goal of the bads is to blow stuff up and the goal of the good is to rescue hossies. It's not (well, it's not supposed) to be a brainless deathmatch, it's a teamplay game, but not too much. Just enough for a bot to understand it, and for its coder to avoid all the tactical AI and the headaches that come with it.

2. Bots like average gamers. The more the gamer is stupid, the more easy it is for the bot. Since there are not too many CS gamers who actually try to play as a team, the bot realizes that it doesn't need much to provide an enjoyable challenge to the gamer and the bot likes this. The bot author likes this too, because to 10 users who complain for the lack of tactics of his bot, he can oppose 1000 users who are über-satisfied with the blind deathmatch skills of the bot. Think about it: enemies I can shoot at without ever getting kicked for cheating, and teammates who never complain for my lack of teamplay and my selfishness !