.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > YappA > Half-Life 2, Source and Source Games
Half-Life 2, Source and Source Games Discuss about Valve's new FPS game and its mods here Half-Life 2

Starting development of bot
Old
  (#1)
ximio

Default Starting development of bot - 25-05-2005

Hi, I'm a Spanish computer science student who has chosen to make a bot as his final project.

I've never done any game modding before, but my objective is to implement some AI algorithms on the bot so that it acts reasonably humanlike. My project director would also like to see some kind of cooperative strategies from the bots.

The first thing I have to decide is the game. I've been mainly looking into botman's HPB Half-Life 1 bot, but I've seen in this forum that there's some progress in Half-Life 2 bots. Half-Life 2 would obviously be much more impressive, but is it feasible? Are there enough examples for a newbie like me to get something done?

In case it's not feasible and I used Half-Life 1, I had considered basing my bot on botman's HPB template. Is this a good starting point? Do you recommend any tutorials/articles considering I basically know nothing on bot programming?

Any comments will be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

Re: Starting development of bot
Old
  (#2)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author

Default Re: Starting development of bot - 26-05-2005

although i am not into the HL2 scene that much as i was in the HL1 scene. I do know HL1 gives you a LOT of power to control things. There is also a LOT of information about it and its easy to code for. So in short, the learning curve is lower, its easier. And since your project is about making the algorithms work, i would suggest you take this route instead of spending a lot of time HOW to CODE things...