.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > YappA > The Agora
The Agora This is the place to go if you have suggestions, or if you want to participate in Council discussions. Everyone is welcome!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#21)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 06-05-2005

How about on the fly navigation. bot considers options before it, ie down straight corridor with corner on left, bot hugs right wall till it reaches corner. With an added specialty looks back down the corridor where it just came from to check for enemies, then procedes not relying on a predetermined route, I know a little vague but I don't know what you guys can do with programming so I leave that bit to you's.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#22)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 07-05-2005

that resembles the "robust trace" navigation method described in the wiki, though it would not be tracing up to a particular destination. I think someone did a modified version of the HPB_bot that sorta worked that way. But it's still a very robotic-like way of moving...



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#23)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 07-05-2005

Well another suggestion could be to have bots behave like woodlice.
Mainly because I remember a project in Bio I had to do with the behaviour patterns in woodlice; turn alternation.
Could that be adotped into bots.
Maybe for bots to behave like humans you would need to begin at the basics of choice.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#24)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 08-05-2005

one of the realbot versions in the ancient times had something like that. It basicly even used 'beacons' to 'help' the bot to move from beacon to beacon to eventually get to the goal...

it was something like this:

- determine angle to goal
- face it
- check if that angle is not blocked by x radius
- if so, do a scan of 180 degrees and go for the 'most far reached' traceline.

So basicly, the bot would go for the most 'farest' traceline, as that is the most 'safe' way. (walls-wise). The theory was, when you enter a corner with 1 or 2 ways T one or L one, you could basicly have the bot turn around because of the 'farest traceline' technique. This only worked half...

why? Because due you want the bot to go somewhere (goal...) you sometimes forced a bot into a dead end, and the bot would do neatly a turn (to prevent collission with walls) and then after a few seconds get back. This is the same as you get with any path finding algorithm. Mostly noticable with First Depth Search.


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#25)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 10-05-2005

Would a Eulerian mode help?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#26)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 10-05-2005

maybe, if we knew what you mean ... euler did quite a lot of stuff


  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#27)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 11-05-2005

sorry about the ambiguatity, however you spell that hehe, I mean Eulerian bridge problem type of mode, where the nodes connected could be selected and the bot takes each connection only once and therefore may not visit the same area twice, its a mode because it will be useful when the bot is trying to hide or search for the remaining player.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#28)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 11-05-2005

That would work only if all maps were guaranteed to have an even number of entrances/exits per room. Else you would easily trap your bot in one of them. Besides, when searching for the remaining player, the bot is not searching for a static object but for a moving entity.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#29)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 11-05-2005

Just pondering thats all.
Would a overall mind be possible?
That would make the bots play as teams but I wouldn't know how to make such a 'object'. With only one mind doing the processing it would therefore make the bots follow its commands based on the other bots encounters, well it could; I am thinking a long the lines of a hive mind controller. Worth experimenting with?
ps hope I don't sound stupid...
  
Reply With Quote
Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code?
Old
  (#30)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: When developing Bots what do you used, ie whats in the code? - 12-05-2005

Yes, that's a very common technique of implementing a squad AI. But it is preferrable to delegate the control not to a hive mind, but to a squad member who will be the "officer in charge", so as to ensure the inputs are the same a human would have. Else the AI can look like it's cheating.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com