.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > General Bot Coding
General Bot Coding See what a pain it is to get those little mechs shooting around

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Trouble starting HPB_bot 4
Old
  (#1)
MUSICAL_DUCK
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2004
Default Trouble starting HPB_bot 4 - 18-11-2004

Hi everyone, this is my first bot(ched ) attempt so have mercy plz 9_9

I am trying to write a bot for the rival species mod. (An older non steam version, which I will later hopefully port to steam)

So far I have managed to:

1. Extract source code and build HPB_bot project using M$ Visual C++ v.6 (yay)

2. I have updated the linkfunc.cpp file with the new entity functions

3. The h_export.cpp file has been updated with the new mod path info.

4. The bot.h file has also been updated with a new #define RIVALSPECIES_DLL 6

5. The project was build successfully.

6. Moved HPB_Bot.dll to rspecies/dlls

7. Edited liblist.gam file (gamedll "dlls/HPB_bot.dll)"

As you can see I followed the Readme/tutorial which came with HPB_Bot.

Now the fun starts

When I try to load the mod I get an exception. (Looks like a null pointer exception : application tried to reference something near zero)

I can't seem to get the debugger going (even with the dedicated server as suggested in another post [hlds tried to execute privileged instuction])

As far as I can tell none of the code I have added has executed so I believe I have either set up msvc incorrectly or I am missing some step.

Does anyone have any ideas?
Thx in advance

(I code better than I spell ... I hope )
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Trouble starting HPB_bot 4
Old
  (#2)
MUSICAL_DUCK
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2004
Default Re: Trouble starting HPB_bot 4 - 21-11-2004

Found the bug

//LINK_ENTITY_TO_FUNC(GiveFnptrsToDll);

^
|

This fixed it

Now to buy stuff from menu... (yikes 2mb log files )
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Trouble starting HPB_bot 4
Old
  (#3)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Trouble starting HPB_bot 4 - 22-11-2004

For the buy stuff generally it's either about client commands (if you know them, just make your bots issue them), or impulse messages. If you need to wait for a particular menu to display catch the network message that displays it and have the bot send it stuff after that.

I will move this thread to the bot coders forum, I think that's where it belongs.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com