.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > General Bot Coding
General Bot Coding See what a pain it is to get those little mechs shooting around

New coder needs help
Old
  (#1)
haha

Default New coder needs help - 02-12-2004

Title says the right thing Im a new coder (in c++) i need some help to start it off. I've been reading that a good way to start off with making bots is copy paste or somthing like that and try change some lines and see the diffrence. Well... I've tried it. also i dont know any place to start so if anyone know this.

Is there any totorials on the web that helps on getting out basis of the c++ coding? or is it worth to buy that book and read it?

If there are any good sites to get basis(maybe some more) can you please post it. needed

Re: New coder needs help
Old
  (#2)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France

Default Re: New coder needs help - 02-12-2004

It is certainly worth it to buy a book and read it !!

You should get yourself a good reference manual for the C language. Once you know C well, C++ will flow like water. The best reference manual I've read so far is "C: A Reference Manual (5th edition)" (http://www.careferencemanual.com). Note that you'll also need a tutorial book, because a reference manual will tell you how to use the C standard libraries efficiently, how to write clean code and what is the state of the art in programming, but it won't tell you the basics if you've never written some sort of computer program before.