.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > FritzBot > Waypoint Forum
Waypoint Forum A place to request waypoints for a specific map, or to check on the progress of waypoints for your favorite maps.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info
Old
  (#11)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info - 19-07-2005

New cmd:

"action_clear"

This cmd works exactly like node_clear = it clears ALL of the actions on your map. Use this if your having problems with your actions, but you have a good node setup and don't want to start over.


New feature:

New node flag.

NODE_LEAP = 32 <- helps the bots to jump over gaps they wouldn't normally jump over on their own. Any node with its flag set to 32 (NODE_LEAP) will be a leap node.

This is a bit tricky: you need 2 nodes with this flag, to mark the ends of the gap in question, one on either end. Each node should be at the END of the ledge/gap/wall/whatever and its radius shouldn't be larger than 20 (THIS IS IMPORTANT! If the radius is too large, the bot may think the gap is bigger than it is and waste precious CPU/TIME/MEMORY/etc trying to find a gap that isn't there yet). ONLY have 2 nodes per gap. Too many nodes will just confuse the bot.

Here is an example picture: there is a node at each end of the wall in front of me. In this map, the bot easily understands and jumps over the gap with the info I've provided.

Obviously, this is only useful for gaps that you yourself can jump across too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	leap.jpg
Views:	703
Size:	81.0 KB
ID:	695  


Dum Spiro Spero



Last edited by Maleficus; 19-07-2005 at 08:05..
  
Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info
Old
  (#12)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info - 19-07-2005

Note: remember that Dynamite/Steal/MG42/SpawnFlag and CapturePoint Actions all need to have a entity number set, for whatever entity that they point to, else they don't work properly.


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info
Old
  (#13)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info - 29-07-2005

with your bots.cfg file, you should have an odd number of bots, so that the human joining evens the teams. Also - use a couple plain "addbot" so that whatever team the human joins, the bots will randomly be added accordingly. You only need a couple of "addbot", that way you can still define the majority of the bots on the map, and its always even and balanced.


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info
Old
  (#14)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info - 30-07-2005

New cvar:

node_defaultRadius

default: 70

For every node your create, its radius will be set automatically to this value, if you don't specify a value. This is useful if your going to be creating a lot of nodes in a tight area, set node_defaultRadius to a smaller value, and you won't have to worry about adjusting the radius values later.




A tip:

The best way to find trouble spots in your maps of course is to play the map with the bots. But, here is another, faster way to catch errors.

1. Start the game in dev mode: use "devmap <mapname>"

2. Start the bots, but then drop into spectator mode.

3. Type "cg_thirdperson 1" into the console, then "cg_thirdpersonrange 150"

4. Type "timescale 2" into the console - this speeds up time. Set timescale to 1 to go to normal time.

5. Spectate all of the bots like you usually would.

This way, you can speed things up a bit, and skip around and easily see if the bots are having problems, and what they're doing. You CAN set timescale to a higher value than 2, but after a certain amount, it gets so fast, its hard to really see whats going on.

NOTE: when the map restarts, you will switch back to FPS. Just type "cg_Thirdperson 1" again to go back to 3rd person mode.

Hope that helps.


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info
Old
  (#15)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Basic FritzBot Map Tools Info - 12-08-2005

A helpful hint: if you want it so that only one bot does an action at a time (ex: a sniper action, you only want one bot there), make the radius for the action any value less than 70, and the code will check for teammates already doing that action when the bot reaches it.


Be VERY careful how you use NODE_JUMP nodes! NEVER make a node use the NODE_JUMP flag if its on the only path to an important goal, since a weak bot with health less than 30, will ignore it. Always try to make an alternate path for weak bots.


Dum Spiro Spero



Last edited by Maleficus; 12-08-2005 at 09:48..
  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com