.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > FritzBot
FritzBot A bot for Return To Castle Wolfenstein - by Maleficus Return to Castle Wolfenstein

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Problem while loading maps
Old
  (#1)
Nick_White
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Problem while loading maps - 20-11-2007

Hello,

I have installed:
Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory
2.60 Patch
Fritzbot ET FINAL
Fritzbot Final Patch

I start the game with the command line: "ET.exe +set fs_game fritzbot" and the game loads with Fritzbot.
The bots work on some maps, but I can't even load other maps - for example:

I create a game, "Single Map Objective", select the map and then start server.
It appeares "Connecting to:" or "Connecting to: localhost" and nothing - nothing seems to load and the music keeps playing (which isn't supposed to, normally, while loading). I can't even get back to the menu.

The maps that don't load are:
Caen 2
Beach Invasion
Ice
SW El Kef

The rest of the default maps work fine.

What seems to be the problem?
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Problem while loading maps
Old
  (#2)
TomTom
ET Waypointing team member
 
TomTom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 739
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default Re: Problem while loading maps - 20-11-2007

Can you open the console ~ ? And /disconnect back to the menu?

The maps you mention have modified .arena files to provide FritzBot related info for the start menu. Unfortunately ET adds a map to the list of available maps based on the arena file not the presence of the actual bsp file. So if as I suspect, you do not have in your \etmain directory the caen2.pk3, et_beach.pk3, et_ice.pk3 and sw_el_kef.pk3 files then choosing any of those will make ET seem to hang in the "Connecting to" screen. And if you open the console you will see the message "Can' find map maps/...bsp"

This ET bug only affects Fritzbot ET servers and hosts where the map is loaded from the menu. If you use a shortcut to specify the map you will be thrown back to the menu. E.G.

"C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\ET.exe" +set fs_game fritzbot +g_gametype 2 +sv_pure 0 +map sw_el_kef"

will load the map \maps\sw_el_kef.bsp if available (in or out of a pk3) in a single objective FritzBot ET match. If not available it loads the FritBot ET main menu screen (and if you open the console the 'Can't find map..." will be 3 lines up from the bottom.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Problem while loading maps
Old
  (#3)
Nick_White
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Re: Problem while loading maps - 20-11-2007

I can bring the console down and it says it can't find the .bsp.

Ok, now I (think I) get the picture: the listed maps in the game menu is based on the available waypoints, not the available maps (.bsp).
So I need to download those maps.

Thank you very much.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Problem while loading maps
Old
  (#4)
TomTom
ET Waypointing team member
 
TomTom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 739
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default Re: Problem while loading maps - 20-11-2007

Basically correct. But not all waypoints have included modified .arena files so this problem does not appear in 80%+ of the waypoints.

To be in the menu a .nav and .arena file must exist in \fritzbot\bots\maps and *\scripts respectively. But the *\scripts can be \etmain\scripts OR \fritzbot\scripts (i.e. map .pk3 OR waypoints .pk3).

The other waypoints that have modified .arena files are;
GA_EL_kef, dm_hillb2, mml_church_et_v1 and church_chigc.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com