.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > SDK Programming discussions > Half-Life 1 SDK
Half-Life 1 SDK For developments focused around Half-Life (and its mods) Half-Life

Duh - please help me get started
Old
  (#1)
ukfreethinker

Default Duh - please help me get started - 10-05-2004

I am a very experienced C++ graphics programmer but I'm completely new to games and bots. I really have tried to find the information that I need before posting this very basic query but I just can't find a basic introduction anywhere. There are plenty of sources of information but it is impossible to tell what is up to date now that we have steam etc.

Specifically, I wish to experiment with games AI by creating bots for Half-Life (or whatever is now the best platform). Here is what I have:

Half-Life - version 1.1.0.8 (it won't update but I also have the latest version running under Steam).
MSVC C++ version 6.0 - no problems here I think
HLSDK latest version
Valve Hammer Editor - latest version
Home PC with broadband connection
Leased Cobalt RAQ4 server running Linux
AdminMod download - not installed yet
Botman HPB bot source - not installed yet