.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > FritzBot
FritzBot A bot for Return To Castle Wolfenstein - by Maleficus Return to Castle Wolfenstein

Reply
 
Thread Tools
FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#1)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 26-03-2006

Fritz Bot ET is finally released!

http://fritzbot.bots-united.com


Questions/suggestions/comments are welcome!

Cheers!


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#2)
Valiant
Member
 
Valiant's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

I don't want to spoil the air with bad news but, I've tried reinstalling/repatching and its just no good. ET starts fine, but whenever I attempt to host a session of any kind to try the bot out, I get some kind of serious error popup and the game closes during the mapload. I don't know if this will help or has any useful information but I grabbed the windows generated report and have it here.

A pretty shocking disappointment to be sure but, this things a clean install now with nothing else to interfere. I can't imagine what could cause this.
Attached Files
File Type: txt 5704_appcompat.txt (11.7 KB, 205 views)


The way is made clear when viewed from above.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#3)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

Are you running the 2.60 ET patch?? FritzBot requires 2.60 to run.

Whats the error msg? How did you start the mod up?

I tested Fritz on a clean install to test, and had no problems running it.

Cheers!


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#4)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

What version of windows are you running, and what kind of CPU do you have?


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#5)
Valiant
Member
 
Valiant's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

Naturally. If you think back to my first main site message - I was complaining that nearly all other bots are broken in some way due to patch 2.60, just to be sure I reran the patch just now and the results are the same. Plus its noted in the readme - which I did

This is the exact error message I got. Its a real mental lapse to have failed to mention this the first time around but I was still scrambling with little things hoping it was just a misconfiguration or something on my end.

AppName: et.exe AppVer: 0.0.0.0 ModName: qagame_mp_x86.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 0002d3f2

At this rate, short of a second reinstall, I can't figure on any course of action.

EDIT: To answer your second set of questions - WindowsXp and an old Athlon 1.2ghz. It's never given me trouble with ET before.
EDIT#2: Oh and sorry I missed that but I've started the mod both of the conventional ways - first by making a shortcut with the added +set fs_game fritzbot and also by way of the in game mod menu. From the shortcut I recieve the error and stopped code, from in game it just appears to stall completely during the load, though according to windows its still running.


The way is made clear when viewed from above.

Last edited by Valiant; 27-03-2006 at 01:13..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#6)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

Just as a hunch, try the .zip file below and extract it into your FritzBot folder.

Let me know if it works.

Cheers!

EDIT: Since we got the problem fixed, I've removed the .zips to avoid any confusion.


Dum Spiro Spero



Last edited by Maleficus; 27-03-2006 at 04:24..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#7)
Valiant
Member
 
Valiant's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

Success! one thing that immediately caught my eye here is that the filesize for the qagame_mp_x86.dll is 922k, while the one in the zip you just attached to the thread is about 886k. Something that sticks out obviously.

In either case overwriting that file was apparently the magic button I needed pressed. The bots were busy wailing on each other in warmup as always haha. Thank alot chief, you rock. Sorry for my scrambled reports there though.


The way is made clear when viewed from above.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#8)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

Alright - I had my suspicions, but your report proved it.

I compiled the .dll to take advantage of some newer CPU features, but it was supposed to be backwards compatiable (according to MicroCrap). Obviously it wasn't.

I'll fix the DL and release a patch for those who got it. Thanks for your help in finding this!


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#9)
Valiant
Member
 
Valiant's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

Well its a pleasure to know my little hangup there served a valueable purpose for the community. At that rate, hah, anytime!


The way is made clear when viewed from above.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!!
Old
  (#10)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: FritzBot ET - its here!!! - 27-03-2006

So... what do you think so far?


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com