.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > FritzBot
FritzBot A bot for Return To Castle Wolfenstein - by Maleficus Return to Castle Wolfenstein

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old bug list
Old
  (#1)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Old bug list - 04-09-2005

NOTE: this is the old bug thread from the .50 release. Its kept here for reference only.

Go ahead and post all of your bugs here in this thread. I'd like to keep the bug reports in one easy to reference place rather than all over the forums. This will help everyone know what bugs we know about, and what we don't.

A patch will be created to address any issues found/listed here. The release date for the patch will be announced soon!

KNOWN BUGS:

1. setting the cvar "g_log" to any value crashes the game on a map change.

UPDATE: this has been fixed! Thanks to CrapShoot for the important clue that made finding this bug much easier!


2. Snipers sometimes leave their camp spots and chase enemies.

UPDATE: The code has been checked - this isn't a bug. Skill 1 bots suck at their choices and their general movement during combat. This is done on purpose to simulate your average n00b human player. On any other skill, they won't do this.



3. Aim needs to be more "tweakable".

UPDATE: This has been fixed. There is a new cvar: "bot_aimSkill" that controls how good the bots are at aiming. You can define globally for all bots (by using the cvar), or when you add the bot. EX: you want to add a HARD allied medic (lets say Denny) that has EASY aiming, you would type this into the console:

\addbot denny 3 1



4. Path issue on Depot with ladder under the axis warehouse.

UPDATE: Fixed! Thanks to Denny and CrapShoot.



5. Path issue with beach and the radio room for axis soldiers.

UPDATE: This bug has been fixed! Thanks to Crapshoot for finding and fixing it.


6. Medic bots are sometimes locking up, it seems to happen on MP_ICE if the docs are on the ground a LOT. I'm also seeing instances where they may go to revive, then freeze up or get distracted WAY too often.

UPDATE: This bug has now been fixed! There should be almost no instances of medics not reviving you, unless they are in combat or in danger by reviving you.

7. Bots get stuck together too easy sometimes.

Update: Fixed! They will move out of way better now.






Dum Spiro Spero



Last edited by Maleficus; 15-09-2005 at 07:05..
  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#2)
ANFSCD
Fritz Bot Fan Club
 
ANFSCD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 04-09-2005

I'll start this off then, shall I?....

mp_beach: Bots get stuck in a corner next to the radio room.
I've included a demo for your convenience.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Fritz_beach.zip (58.0 KB, 143 views)


  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#3)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 04-09-2005

BTW: I really appreciate the demos - its helps a lot.


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#4)
Denny
FritzRTCW Team Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 370
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 04-09-2005

Add another i saw on one of my waypoints, Allied soldiers standing in the spawn room on Castle doing nothing after obelisk is returned, i don't get why either.


FritzbotRTCW Official Waypointer & Beta Tester
Updated: 1/12/06

Click Here to view my current waypointing progress.
  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#5)
CrapShoot
A Monkey
 
CrapShoot's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 386
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 04-09-2005

Quote:
Originally Posted by ANFSCD
I'll start this off then, shall I?....

mp_beach: Bots get stuck in a corner next to the radio room.
I've included a demo for your convenience.
I've seen that alot as well. This is a good demo to show prosective waypointers what hapens when bots have unreachable goals. I'm troubleshoting it right now and hopefully it will be fixed in the next waypoint update.
  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#6)
ANFSCD
Fritz Bot Fan Club
 
ANFSCD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 04-09-2005

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maleficus
BTW: I really appreciate the demos - its helps a lot.
I'm glad to be able to help.
A demo says more than a 1.000 words.


  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#7)
ANFSCD
Fritz Bot Fan Club
 
ANFSCD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 04-09-2005

Here is another demo, this time on mp_chateau, also showing bot behavior when they are trying to get to an unreachable node. It's in the transmitting room, where the bots sometimes also gets stuck in the doorways leading in, especially the one from the basement. I've seen 4-5 bots lined up, trying to get in but can't because the first one is stuck.

I don't know if you should consider it a bug really since seeing that bot jump around like that actually makes it a bit more human... Let's call it a "feature".
Attached Files
File Type: zip Fritz_chateau.zip (95.0 KB, 148 views)


  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#8)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 04-09-2005

For that one, it appears that whatever node/action the bot is trying to reach on that desk, the radius is MUCH too small.

I will look at their stuck code some more, and will see about getting the bunching up in the doorway bit fixed.


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#9)
ANFSCD
Fritz Bot Fan Club
 
ANFSCD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 05-09-2005

The bunching up going on in the demo isn't that big of a problem really IMO since they manage to get out of it eventually by jumping around. Of course you could try to improve it. I'll try to get a demo of a bot getting really stuck in the other doorway.


  
Re: Bug List - Go here before posting!
Old
  (#10)
Denny
FritzRTCW Team Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 370
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Default Re: Bug List - Go here before posting! - 05-09-2005

I'll have a look at that chateau stuff, i coulda swore that door was working in the basement (or entryway whatever you wanna call it) But i'll look into that. Thanks


FritzbotRTCW Official Waypointer & Beta Tester
Updated: 1/12/06

Click Here to view my current waypointing progress.
  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com