.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > POD-Bot mm > Ideas
Ideas One idea per thread please! :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Bot playing time in A2S_Playerinfo
Old
  (#1)
Messiah
Messiah :)
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Default Bot playing time in A2S_Playerinfo - 30-10-2012

Hello,

Sorry I don't know if this idea was already discussed but it seems that no...

I think it's good to change the "Time connected" field in server info query and players info from server uptime to real time the bot joined server.

Reason:
Everybody knows that nobody will join empty server. If you just started your server and it's new - nobody will join it.
In this case it's good idea to put bots: for example, pb_maxbots 4
when real player joins the server bot will be kicked. So, when 4 real players will be on the server there would be no bots, if somebody will exit, 1 bot joins. Perfect, isn't it?

Problem:
If curious player views the information in the server browser and if he notices that the time is same for all players, he think that this is a fake redirect server and wont join it. It would be much better if he will see the real time when bot joined the server.


P.S. thank you for the ping.
P.S. 2. also it will be better if the bot will be "disconnected" but not "kicked" when changing pb_maxbots or numer players was changed
P.S. 3 sorry for my bad English
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bot playing time in A2S_Playerinfo
Old
  (#2)
buktor
Member
 
buktor's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Zhitomir, Ukraine
Default Re: Bot playing time in A2S_Playerinfo - 30-10-2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by Messiah View Post
P.S. 3 sorry for my bad English
I also did not know much English!!!

Basically the idea is good! But you do not seem to if it will work in real-time it will provide an additional load on the server! Sorry if that is not said so!
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bot playing time in A2S_Playerinfo
Old
  (#3)
Messiah
Messiah :)
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Default Re: Bot playing time in A2S_Playerinfo - 31-10-2012

Holywar between users from Ukraine

I think it will not do additional load since it should be a constant "join time" initialised properly when adding a fake player... As I understand it
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com