.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > General Programming
General Programming Help others and get yourself helped here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#11)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,618
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 07-08-2006

Well then better debug it with MSVC++ 2005.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#12)
KWo
Developer of PODBot mm
 
KWo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,425
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 07-08-2006

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_STORM
Well then better debug it with MSVC++ 2005.
As I told You on ICQ - I don't have it installed on my work's PC. I have only mingw, cygwin and Code::Blocks. It is supposed to work, but I believe I must change something in settings and should know better Code::Blocks to get working the debugger. It really slows me down if I cannot normally debug.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#13)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,618
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 07-08-2006

Sorry I were forgot about that you don't have MSVC++ 2005 on the work PC. So I don't think that any GNU debugger have option to attach to proccess when the process is already running, you need to start CS with the debuger. I don't know how is the UI of Code::Blocks but maybe it have something like Debug menu with option to start an executable file. To debug CS in that way you must create file SteamApp.cfg in to the
Steam\SteamApps\account_name\counter-strike\
folder.
The File must looks like that:
Quote:
################################################## ##########################
##
# SteamApp.cfg
#
# Steam Client App configuration-override file
#
# This file is read by the Steam code in the Client
# Application, and controls configurable parameters that
# affect only that App.
#
# To be effective it must be placed in the App directory
# (for example, c:\Steam\SteamApps\me@web.com\Half-Life\).
#
################################################## ##########################
##
#
# Debug-launch settings
#
# Use these settings when you are running your application directly
# from your debugger (ie, not launching the App from the Steam UI)
# In such cases, you need to tell Steam which application
# you are running and the version you want to use. Each application has
# an ID number and each version of your application has a version ID number.
# You also need to indicate the username you are running Steam under.
#
# SteamInstallPath should point to the directory where the corresponding Steam.exe
# resides
#
# To do a debug launch:
#
# - do at least one launch from the UI first to ensure the Minimum Footprint files
# are present
# - leave the Steam UI running
# - copy this file into the App directory
# - fill out the following config parameters
# - run the app directly or through the debugger, with "-steam" on the command line
#
# You may leave it setup and still do normal launches through the
# Steam UI. However, if you comment out the SteamInstallPath parameter,
# you must also REMOVE Steam.dll from the App directory, or else the
# launch will fail with "The local Steam service is not running".
#
SteamAppId=10
SteamAppVersionId=0
SteamInstallPath=C:\Steam
SteamAppUser=account_name
change the SteamInstallPath to point your main Steam dir(where is located steam.exe) if there is spaces put it in quotes.
After that make SteamAppUser to point steam user name.
Then start Steam and leave it to run on background, then force the debugger to run the hl.exe in to the \counter-strike\ folder with this command line
hl.exe -steam -game cstrike
else if you debug Dedicated server you must change the paths in to the debugger to point hlds.exe and you must add this command line
hlds.exe -steam -console -game cstrike -maxplayers 20 +map de_dust2
(you can change the map and the maxplayers values)
Set the work dir in to the debugger(if have such option) to point the folder that hl.exe is located. Now start debugging with Code::Blocks option(it must have such option) and all will be fine.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#14)
Whistler
Summoner
 
Whistler's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,499
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mist Village
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 07-08-2006

well in my installed copy of Code::Blocks I can just use Debug->Attach to Process... and then input the PID to attach to a process. But I'm on GNU/Linux, not sure about Windows (maybe try ctrl+alt+del to get the PID?).

As for the debugging information, it really should be okay. It may be the bugs of Dr. MinGW. Try the command line version of GDB and see if it's working.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#15)
KWo
Developer of PODBot mm
 
KWo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,425
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 09-08-2006

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistler
well in my installed copy of Code::Blocks I can just use Debug->Attach to Process... and then input the PID to attach to a process. But I'm on GNU/Linux, not sure about Windows (maybe try ctrl+alt+del to get the PID?).
There is no such stuff for windows version - for some reason (C::B 1.0 RC2).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistler
As for the debugging information, it really should be okay. It may be the bugs of Dr. MinGW. Try the command line version of GDB and see if it's working.
I think there is a bug in mingw for win rather...
I just changed ggdb3 to ggdb2 and here is the result:
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMingw
Code:
hlds.exe caused an Access Violation at location 77c37784 in module msvcrt.dll Reading from location 40ade1b9.

Registers:
eax=40ade1b9 ebx=6d06f752 ecx=6d08c604 edx=40ade1b9 esi=0787088c edi=00000002
eip=77c37784 esp=0012f240 ebp=0012f25c iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
cs=001b  ss=0023  ds=0023  es=0023  fs=003b  gs=0000             efl=00000202

Call stack:
77C37784  msvcrt.dll:77C37784  strcmp
6D0498DB  podbot_mm.dll:6D0498DB  BotChooseAimDirection(bot_t*)  bot.cpp:3596

    ...
       else if ((iFlags & AIM_PREDICTPATH) && !(iFlags & AIM_ENTITY)) // KWo - 04.03.2006
       {
>          if  ( ((pEdict->v.origin - pBot->vecLastEnemyOrigin).Length () < 1600)
              && ( (tr.flFraction >= 0.2) || !(FStrEq(STRING (tr.pHit->v.classname), "worldspawn"))))
          {
    ...

6D04FE20  podbot_mm.dll:6D04FE20  BotThink(bot_t*)  bot.cpp:5639

    ...
       *****************************************/
    
>       BotChooseAimDirection (pBot);
       BotFacePosition (pBot, pBot->vecLookAt);
       BotCheckZoom (pBot); // KWo - 18.03.2006
    ...

6D0700E7  podbot_mm.dll:6D0700E7  StartFrame()  dll.cpp:1841

    ...
             }
             g_i_botthink_index = bot_index; // KWo - 02.05.2006
>             BotThink (&bots[bot_index]);
             num_bots++;
          }
    ...

6B2075F6  metamod.dll:6B2075F6
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#16)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 26-08-2006

Since my new job i work with Ecplise every day. I must say , the Gui is impressive and you can code a lot faster.

About Java being bloated. Its not actually bloated, it just forces you to code some stuff more into classes.

Last but not least, i am getting a course to become a Java Certified Programmer. I've seen the books, will be quite tough for someone who only coded as a hobby (compared to those guys who have done it for years)...but i will manage.

Btw: Java being slow? With the JIT Compilation it is as fast as C i've been told.


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#17)
Whistler
Summoner
 
Whistler's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,499
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mist Village
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 27-08-2006

well a simple Hello World program in Java takes 7-8 seconds to load in my old computer...
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#18)
mirv
Super Moderator
 
mirv's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 152
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 27-08-2006

New computer, new software, loaded up eclipse again (win32 version) and if I ever do java programming again, that will most definitely be what I use. As for c++, I'm still officially a student and the uni I'm at has an msdn "thingy" so I've got Visual Studio 2005 Professional Ed. And while I'm no microsoft fan, credit where credit is due, it's quite nice.


mirv the Silly Fish.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#19)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 27-08-2006

The only drawback i have seen so far, is that java programs take longer to load. Due the VM thats being loaded, the JIT compiler being run. Etc. But in the end, its not that slow.


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Re: comments on eclipse
Old
  (#20)
markus_heiden
Moderator / E[POD]bot developer
 
markus_heiden's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 66
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Default Re: comments on eclipse - 23-09-2006

Jup, the only problem with java is the startup time of the vm and the memory usage is higher than for other languages. But the api and the language are ways more intuitive than c++ and you have more libs and need less effort to install them. i never want to write a business app in c++ if there is an option to do it in java.

c# is pretty the same than java is, but there are still not enough libs and the namespace design is a little bit strange. anyways i would prefer it to c++.

Eclipse is a very good ide for java (while still intellij idea is the best). the cdt lacks a lot of features the jdt has, but the jdt features are harder to implement for c++, because the languages is too big. so this features maybe never find a way into the cdt.

i worked with msvc too and i had to say that i like the eclipse way much more than the msvc way. then only thing missing in the cdt is a good c++ debugger like msvc has. currently i am using the cdt with cygwin and i am satisfied.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com