.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > HPB_bot
HPB_bot The trusty good ole mechs by botman HLDMTFCOpposing ForceDMCFront Line Force

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#1)
Rosare
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Installing on rental server? - 22-02-2004

Hi, this is my first visit to these forums and I'm looking for a way to install HPB bot on my rented server, I only have access to the mod folder not the root. Is it possible?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#2)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 22-02-2004

First, does your server run metamod ? If it does, you can upload the hpb_bot_mm.dll somewhere and make the plugins.ini reference it. Additionally you can upload the miscellaneous bot config files, the waypoints, and you're set.

If your server doesn't run metamod, then either install it, or stick with the older "official" version of the HPB_bot, which does not require metamod to run.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#3)
Rosare
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 22-02-2004

Yes is runs metamod, sounds easy enough. I thought I might have to ask my rental company to install it but they probably wouldn't.

Thanks I'll give it a go
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#4)
Rosare
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 23-02-2004

I have the dll running now but I can't seem to add bots, I have the bot.cfg setup in my mod folder and acording to the meta list it's running ok, adding bots with rcon doesn't work either.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#5)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 23-02-2004

Adding bot works through a dedicated server command. Already tried "HPB_Bot addbot" ?



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#6)
Rosare
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 24-02-2004

Thx Pierre that adds bot now but still doesn't read the bot.cfg I have to add them manually. What folder does it need to be in? I've tried all sorts of folders but it wont read it from anywhere ???
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#7)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 24-02-2004

The HPB_bot.cfg file should be in the mod's directory. For example, if you install the HPB_bot on TFC, the bot cfg file should be placed in /half-life/tfc (where the liblist.gam file is).

Is it a Linux server ? Linux servers are case sensitive. Ensure your file is named "HPB_bot.cfg" and not "hpb_bot.cfg" (and not "bot.cfg" either, by the way)



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#8)
Rosare
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 24-02-2004

That's where there's a problem. The bot.cfg isn't being read at all. It doesn't even read map specific configs.

Right now there are 4 bots on the server but doing "HPB_bot max_bots" in the console reports it as 0, how can this be there are bots on the server?
I don't understand.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#9)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 24-02-2004

The max_bots variable is not taken in account when you add bots manually.

I just checked again, the HPB_bot.cfg file is read, for me. Ensure it is called HPB_bot.cfg and NOT bot.cfg.

Also the map specific config files should be called "[mapname]_HPB_bot.cfg", for example "crossfire_HPB_bot.cfg", and they must be in the "maps" folder of the MOD directory.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Installing on rental server?
Old
  (#10)
Rosare
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Installing on rental server? - 24-02-2004

That's what is confusing me Pierre, I have everything setup exactly the way it's supposed to be, HPB_bot.cfg and the only map specific cfg I have is fy_iceworld_HPB_bot.cfg (counterstrike) I know the bot isn't intended for cs but I only want them on that map as the weapons are at your feet when you start, no buying involved. The map specific config is in the maps folder and is set at 0 min bots and 4 max bots, the HPB_bot.cfg is set to 0 max bots 0 min bots, the only thing I have changed in the HPB_bot.cfg is the min and max bots nothing else, I've even tried max_bots 10 in the HPB_bot.cfg but then the bots don't join just like it is ignoring the config.

It should be running without a problem but doesn't :'(
FYI I run the .dll from the addons\metamod\dlls folder, could this be causing problems?
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com