.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > JoeBot
JoeBot Furious mechs by @$3.1415rin Counter-Strike

Reply
 
Thread Tools
CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#1)
BotUser
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jun 2004
Default CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 21-06-2004

Hi,

first of all thanks for this great bot. Gives me endless hours of offline fun ...

Version 1.6.5.1 worked nice in my setup. I run Steam-CS 1.6 together with Metamod, and my launch options look like:

-dll addons\metamod\dlls\metamod.dll +localinfo mm_gamedll joebot/joebot.dll

Today I downloaded 1.6.5.2 and it does not work any more.

Liblist.gam is the one extracted from the 1.6.5.2 zip-file:

game "Counter-Strike"
url_info "www.counter-strike.net"
url_dl ""
version "1.6"
size "184000000"
svonly "0"
secure "1"
type "multiplayer_only"
cldll "1"
hlversion "1111"
nomodels "1"
nohimodel "1"
mpentity "info_player_start"
gamedll "joebot\joebot.dll"
gamedll_linux "joebot/joebot_i386.so"
trainmap "tr_1"

I also tried to run Joebot as Metamod plugin, using joebot_mm.dll.
Same result.

Using either method, CS crashes to desktop if a game is started.

All worked perfectly with 1.6.5.1, and I checked that the files are in the right locations.

What gives ? Please help ...

BotUser
  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#2)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 21-06-2004

so when you overwrite the new dll with the old one it's still running ? because the last days there was also a steam update fuckin' up some stuff, look @ http://forums.bots-united.org/showthread.php?t=1978


  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#3)
Kramerika
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

I have the same problem. I have been using 1.6.5.1 for months on my server with no problem. After the latest updates, the bot stopped working (due to the chat bug?). When I saw that joebot was updated, I rejoiced. However, I have yet to get the new version working (as a metamod plugin) on my server. I changed no settings or files other than the dll. When I start the server, it does not crash. It just doesn't load the plugin. It gives me this error:

[META] ERROR: dll: Failed query plugin '<joebot_mm.dll>'; Couldn't find Meta_Query();
[META] ERROR: dll: Skipping plugin '<joebot_mm.dll>'; couldn't query
[META] ERROR: dll: Failed to load plugin 'joebot_mm.dll'

The path is still the same to the dll. Metamod was updated to version 1.17.1 recently, but the changes shouldn't have this kind of effect from what I can see. Admin mod still works perfectly.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#4)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

ok, then this isnt a problem of the new JoeBOT version, but a problem of the steam update, again trashing things here. The 1.6.5.2 _isnt_ yet compatible with that chat stuff, even though the dates are close together.


  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#5)
BotUser
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jun 2004
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by @$3.1415rin
so when you overwrite the new dll with the old one it's still running ? because the last days there was also a steam update fuckin' up some stuff, look @ http://forums.bots-united.org/showthread.php?t=1978
Yes, I went back to the 1.6.5.1 joebot.dll and everything is working again without having any settings changed.

When trying to start a game with 1.6.5.2, the usual steam popup showing the progress bar (loading, precaching ....) does not even come up. It crashes to desktop before anything happens.

Looks like enginefuncs-problem to me.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#6)
Kramerika
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

I just wanted to note that 1.6.5.1 does load for me with the latest STEAM update, but as soon as someone chats, it crashes the server. 1.6.5.2 won't load at all. It can't seem to find the dll for some reason. I am loading both via metamod and changed nothing in the configuration except for the joebot_mm.dll file. I have the joebot_mm.dll file in the cstrike/joebot folder. My metamod plugins file is pointing to it.

win32 joebot/joebot_mm.dll

Loading it works with 1.6.5.1. It just crashes the server with chat.

Last edited by Kramerika; 22-06-2004 at 14:39..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#7)
wrck
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

hey, Im having the same problem



  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#8)
BotUser
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jun 2004
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

I was just logging in to Steam and received the update. 1.6.5.1 still works for me. However, I don't run a server, just a local game for offline play.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#9)
BotUser
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jun 2004
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrck
hey, Im having the same problem
We probably all have. We'll have to wait until master @$3.1415rin comes up with some fixes for us
  
Reply With Quote
Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem
Old
  (#10)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: CS 1.6 (Steam) + Metamod + 1.6.5.2 Problem - 22-06-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by BotUser
Yes, I went back to the 1.6.5.1 joebot.dll and everything is working again without having any settings changed.
WTF !?

looks like the steampowered cruft has to take a look here ...


  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com