.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > HPB_bot
HPB_bot The trusty good ole mechs by botman HLDMTFCOpposing ForceDMCFront Line Force

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Changing the Bots skins/name and Verion 4
Old
  (#1)
SexualChocolate
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Changing the Bots skins/name and Verion 4 - 13-02-2004

Hiya Folks,
Is it possible to change the name/skin of the a bot depending on what map is being?

Also when you say that Version 4 is now a metamod plugin. Does that mean that the Bot no longer has to be called from the command line? But can be fired up in the same way as other MM plugins ie Stripper2, Spawn_prot, etc?

Love and peace.

Ps Good work on the site. Excellent

Last edited by SexualChocolate; 13-02-2004 at 15:39.. Reason: Thought of something else!!!!
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Changing the Bots skins/name
Old
  (#2)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Changing the Bots skins/name - 13-02-2004

I don't think so.... unless you're a coder and you hack the source code to implement this feature.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Changing the Bots skins/name
Old
  (#3)
SexualChocolate
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Changing the Bots skins/name - 13-02-2004

Is that about the name or the plugin?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Changing the Bots skins/name
Old
  (#4)
botman
Super Moderator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 280
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Default Re: Changing the Bots skins/name - 13-02-2004

The HPB bot supports a different .cfg file for each map (based on map name, see the HPB_bot_ReadMe.txt file).

You can create a separate bot .cfg file for each map and specifiy in that .cfg which name/skin you want to use for those bots. So, yes, you can create bots with specific names/skins for specific maps, no coding required.

botman
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Changing the Bots skins/name
Old
  (#5)
SexualChocolate
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Changing the Bots skins/name - 16-02-2004

That worked a treat. Next question is it possible to have a specific Bot.text file for each map. ie on Boot_camp the bot would say different things to what he would say on Frenzy?

ta
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Changing the Bots skins/name
Old
  (#6)
botman
Super Moderator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 280
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Default Re: Changing the Bots skins/name - 17-02-2004

Nope. There is currently only one HPB_bot_chat.txt file and it will be used for all maps.

botman
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com