.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Game servers > Server admin help
Server admin help Post here your questions related to how to get a server working, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c
Old
  (#11)
LordOfSteel
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c - 02-06-2004

A okay sfx1999

can you tell my how to make a bootdisc out of the ios file?
I know it is simpel but I cant figure out how.

as soon I get det server working I will stop running everything as root.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c
Old
  (#12)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c - 02-06-2004

If the image file is just 1.44Mb (i.e, not compressed) you can do this

cat /your/file.iso > /dev/fd0

(fd0 or whatever your floppy disk is called on Linux)
Prettier method:

dd if=/your/file.iso of=/dev/fd0 bs=512

which does the same thing. Obviously you gotta have a blank disk ready in your floppy drive (not mounted).



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c
Old
  (#13)
LordOfSteel
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c - 02-06-2004

I have tryed ro run the command:
dd if=/your/file.iso of=/dev/fd0 bs=512

it says:
dd: writing `/dev/fd0': Input/output error
97+0 records in
96+0 records out

then I restartet the computer and it dident boot from the floppy.
I have tryed 3 floppy discs
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c
Old
  (#14)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c - 02-06-2004

is the floppy drive /dev/fd0 or /dev/fd0a ? (or anything else ?)
change the command accordingly

Also make sure your CMOS setup is set to boot on floppy before looking on the hard disk.

And there must be an install procedure somewhere on the memtest website, no ? I would be very surprised if not...



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c
Old
  (#15)
LordOfSteel
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c - 02-06-2004

Okay I have got the computer too boot from the memtest floppy, but...
is says:

@X: 0400
AX: 0212
BX: 3A00
CX: 0401
DX: 0100.

and it is in a infinit loop,
is this ok? shod I just wait?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c
Old
  (#16)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Cannot access memory at adress 0xffffe70c - 02-06-2004

From the memtest86 site:
Quote:
Known Problems



Sometimes when booting from a floppy disk the following messages scroll up on the screen: X:8000 AX:0212 BX:8600 CX:0201 DX:0000

This the BIOS reporting floppy disk read errors. Try re-writing the disk. If that does not work replace the disk.

Memtest86 can not diagnose many types of PC failures. For example a faulty CPU that causes Windows to crash will most likely just cause Memtest86 to crash in the same way.

There have been numerous reports of errors in only tests 5 and 8 on Athlon systems. Often the memory works in a different system or the vendor insists that it is good. In these cases the memory is not necessarily bad but is not able to operate reliably at Athlon speeds. Sometimes more conservative memory timings on the motherboard will correct these errors. In other cases the only option is to replace the memory with better quality, higher speed memory. Don't buy cheap memory and expect it to work with an Athlon! On occasion test 5/8 errors will occur even with name brand memory and a quality motherboard. These errors are legitimate and should be corrected.

Memtest86 has no support for multiple processors. Memtest86 will execute without problems, but it will only use one CPU.

Memtest86 supports all types of memory. If fact the test has no knowledge of the memory type nor does it need to. Memtest86 is able to test all types and brands of memory. This not a problem or bug but is listed here due to the many questions about this issue. Changes in the compiler and loader have caused problems with Memtest86 resulting in both build failures and errors in execution. A binary image (precomp.bin) of the test is included and may be used if problems are encountered.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com