.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > SDK Programming discussions > Half-Life 1 SDK
Half-Life 1 SDK For developments focused around Half-Life (and its mods) Half-Life

Reply
 
Thread Tools
prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#1)
dead bwoy
Member
 
dead bwoy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: STL MO USA
Default prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 14-06-2004

1: Does anyone know how to prevent the precaching of a certain file?
2: Does anyone know where to find info on the reslists folder and how steam uses these files?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#2)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 15-06-2004

Preventing a file to precache will cause the game to crash when it'll want to use it (such as spawning the entity for a .mdl file). Are you sure that's what you want to do ?

BTW there'll be coding involved, I think this post belongs rather to the coding forums...



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#3)
dead bwoy
Member
 
dead bwoy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: STL MO USA
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 15-06-2004

I want to substitute a default precached file with my own which changes on map change (ServerDeactivate/pfnChangeLevel?).
ie:
Code:
server start: de_dust
substitute BotProfile.db with DesertBots.db
precache models in DesertBots.db
run AddDesBots.cfg
play map with desert camo models
change map: fy_iceworld
substitute BotProfile.db with ArcticBots.db
precache models in ArcticBots.db
run AddArcBots.cfg
play map with arctic camo models
I'm assuming that if I can tell the engine which Bot Profile to load on each map change it will only precache the models in that bot profile instead of precaching all models in the master BotProfile.db (50+) which I can't do now because of the 512 precache limit. Thanks to Splorygon, I've been editing the cfg loader he made out of the HPB_Bot template to try and allow this map specific model minipulation.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#4)
dead bwoy
Member
 
dead bwoy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: STL MO USA
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 15-06-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
BTW there'll be coding involved, I think this post belongs rather to the coding forums...
So there's no way to use the resfiles to do this? I noticed map-specific .lst files under internal preloads.lst, so I was thinking I could add the map-specific profiles and models here or in a res file for the map. Problem is, how do I prevent the precaching of BotProfile.db? In reslists/Condition Zero/excludes.lst or reslists/Counter-Strike/excludes.lst? The ClientGameInfo.vdf states:
Code:
 "primarycache" "81" // Base Condition Zero Content (Condition Zero.gcf)
"dependantOnApp" "10" // Counter-Strike (Counter-Strike.gcf)
So does that mean I need to edit the Condition Zero/reslists/ or Counter-Strike/reslists/? The liblist.gam states:
Code:
fallback_dir "cstrike"
So I would think it would be Condition Zero/reslists/, but then again, czero is dependant on cstrike so maybe it would be Counter-Strike/reslists/...

Anyone???...??????

Edit: Anyone know where to find where the clientMax is defined? I want to override the maxplayers set at ServerActivate on each map change.

Last edited by dead bwoy; 15-06-2004 at 04:42..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#5)
dead bwoy
Member
 
dead bwoy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: STL MO USA
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 30-06-2004

***bump***
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#6)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 30-06-2004

All I can say is that you can't override the maxplayers in ServerActivate... you can't force the server to have a different number of players than it was meant to have initially. The only thing you can do is limit the number of players connecting.

For the rest, I have strictly no idea...



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#7)
dead bwoy
Member
 
dead bwoy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: STL MO USA
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 01-07-2004

Well, I'm guessing that the maxplayers is hardcoded in the mp.dll for the tour of duty missions then. I was hoping there would be a way to trick it into changing the maxplayers, there being a user input field for maxplayers on a normal mp server, but I see how they're different and this may not be possible. The only other thing I can think of is messing with steam files... like the launch properties field, or something.... I'll see what I can find...
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#8)
dstruct2k
 
dstruct2k's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 225
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 25-08-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by dead bwoy
Well, I'm guessing that the maxplayers is hardcoded in the mp.dll for the tour of duty missions then. I was hoping there would be a way to trick it into changing the maxplayers, there being a user input field for maxplayers on a normal mp server, but I see how they're different and this may not be possible. The only other thing I can think of is messing with steam files... like the launch properties field, or something.... I'll see what I can find...
You can trick the game into allowing another player to join a tour of duty server. Remove the sv_password (or change to something like 123) and kick a bot.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#9)
sPlOrYgOn
<-- He did it.
 
sPlOrYgOn's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way.
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 25-08-2004

I added podbots on my side and turned on inhumanturns
  
Reply With Quote
Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
Old
  (#10)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) - 26-08-2004

lol, cheata



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com