.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > SDK Programming discussions > Half-Life 2 SDK
Half-Life 2 SDK For developments focused around the Half-Life 2 engine Half-Life 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#31)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 09-01-2005

the SDK had an update, perhaps you need to re-build the source from a new SDK as SteveC did


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#32)
Cheeseh
[rcbot]
 
Cheeseh's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: China
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 09-01-2005

I'm compiling the SCBot source with the same SDK code as my bot, SCBot compiles fine with the CBasePlayer stuff, mine doesn't even with the GAME_DLL thing and stuff, it;s confusin me ???
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#33)
SteveC
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 37
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 09-01-2005

Some of the functions within CBasePlayer don't work, they create linking errors. I think it's related to what the function calls, e.g. if it calls stuff from within the base entity class.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#34)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 09-01-2005

I saw in your post you figured how to do walking to A , aiming at B

got any hints/source on that?


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#35)
SteveC
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 37
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 09-01-2005

I think the latest souce zip in this thread contains the code for moving one way and looking in the other. But I don't think it will be very tidy, so not too readable.

It's quite easy now the math utilities are working because you can do tricky stuff in one line.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#36)
stefanhendriks
RealBot Author
 
stefanhendriks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,088
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 09-01-2005

i got this principle working already as well; thx for the code snippets. I don't think i need more

http://johannes.lampel.net/pics/shit/de_cbble0005.jpg

thx for mr joe / asp for his screeny and testing,

man i have to reinstall MSVC!


Author of RealBot, "Arrakis" and "Dune 2 - The Maker" | co-Founder of Bots-United | Fundynamic | Blog | E-Mail me
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#37)
Geesu
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 11-01-2005

I could compile the second zip file he posted fine, but I was unable to find where you defined GAME_DLL, which file did you put that in if you mind me asking?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#38)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 11-01-2005

you can define stuff in the properties of your project, so you don't need to write that defines directly to some file ( which you might forget to load here and there, and then you'd be fucked up )


  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#39)
Cheeseh
[rcbot]
 
Cheeseh's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: China
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 11-01-2005

I'm having trouble getting bots to face something, they never turn to look at anything when I set the cmd.viewangles to the angles I want. Is there something I'm missing? I'm using SteveC's CBasePlayer way of issuing a command:

PHP Code:
void CBot :: runPlayerMove()
{
    static 
CUserCmd cmd;

    
//////////////////////////////////
    
memset(&cmd0sizeof(cmd));
    
//////////////////////////////////
    
cmd.forwardmove m_fForwardSpeed;
    
cmd.sidemove m_fSideSpeed;
    
cmd.upmove m_fUpSpeed;
    
cmd.buttons m_iButtons;
    
cmd.impulse m_iImpulse;
    
cmd.viewangles m_vViewAngles;
    
    
CBasePlayer *pPlayer = (CBasePlayer*)CBaseEntity::Instance(m_pEdict);
    
// SteveC : CBasePlayer user command
    
pPlayer->ProcessUsercmds(&cmd,1,1,0,false); // SteveC


the bots move okay though, they just won't turn at all ?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: How to do correct movement
Old
  (#40)
SteveC
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 37
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Default Re: How to do correct movement - 11-01-2005

Did you include the line of code to set the fixangle type to none?

It's in post 3 of this thread.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com