.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > General Bot Coding
General Bot Coding See what a pain it is to get those little mechs shooting around

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#31)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Something about msecval - 03-02-2004

"sv_maxspeed was not initialized correctly" because sv_maxspeed is a server CVAR, not a client one, which means that if the game DLL chooses to rely on this value for the players' movements, ALL the players will run at the same speed all the time. This can't be, because CS lets players have different run speeds given the weapon they are carrying. That's why the game DLL of Counter-Strike does NOT rely on sv_maxspeed, but let the clients adapt their max speeds individually, unlike other MODs which don't feature different player run speeds.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#32)
strelok
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: Something about msecval - 03-02-2004

2 Pierre-Marie Baty vbmenu_register("postmenu_4927", true);
You function (void SetSpeed (bot_t *pBot)) only for CS 1.5? Where weapon FAMAS, GALIL?

  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#33)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Something about msecval - 03-02-2004

right, it's not "my" function, really ; it's eLiTe's function (which he had in his TEAMbot). You'll have to figure out yourself what are the player's max speed when you are carrying a FAMAS or a GALIL.

But I suggest you rather use pBot->pEdict->v.maxspeed like KaCaT said.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#34)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Something about msecval - 03-02-2004

BTW, KaCaT, does pEdict->v.maxspeed also work for CS 1.5 ?



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#35)
KaCaT
Moderator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 55
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default Re: Something about msecval - 03-02-2004

No, it doesn't works for CS 1.5. The value it gives for bots in CS 1.5 always is 1000 8o


IvPBot - Improved version of Podbot
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#36)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Something about msecval - 03-02-2004

then how about this instead:
Code:
void pfnSetClientMaxspeed (const edict_t *pEdict, float fNewMaxspeed)
{
   // update this client's max speed (Counter-Strike 1.5 doesn't do it right)
   ((edict_t *) pEdict)->v.maxspeed = fNewMaxspeed;
   (*g_engfuncs.pfnSetClientMaxspeed) (pEdict, fNewMaxspeed);
}



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#37)
strelok
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: Something about msecval - 06-02-2004

With a speed everything is all right. Thanks.
But the problem with freezing has remained.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#38)
strelok
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: Something about msecval - 08-02-2004

What value should be up to freeze time and what after?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#39)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Something about msecval - 08-02-2004

the bot's maxspeed should be kept at 0 before freeze time, and raised to the normal value (pBot->pEdict->v.maxspeed in CS 1.6 or f_max_speed passed in pfnSetClientMaxSpeed() in CS 1.5) immediately after it. But I'm not sure your problem comes from here...



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Something about msecval
Old
  (#40)
Dysangel
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Re: Something about msecval - 30-05-2018

This is a long shot, but does anyone still have the TEAMbot source code? I would appreciate it if you could mail to me at nboxelite@hotmail.com

I am making multiplayer game in Unreal Engine and would like to use my old bot perception code as a reference, since I had spent a lot of time tweaking it to be fun to play against

I lost the original code a long time ago after a power surge destroyed my PC. Since then I have realised the importance of backups :p
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com