.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > FritzBot
FritzBot A bot for Return To Castle Wolfenstein - by Maleficus Return to Castle Wolfenstein

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#1)
the bindlestiff
Member
 
the bindlestiff's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 280
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Washington state
Default Has anyone else seen these errors? - 09-10-2006

During the past several sessions of playing on thekillbox server, we've seen several instances of large numbers of bots complaining about "having no goals," the result being that they just stand around until they're killed. Usually this is due to waypointing errors, but this happens on older, well-tested maps that we've extensively played before. Saw it last night on Nachteinbruch, Fueldump, and Reactor and a couple of others that I can't remember ATM.

Has anyone else noticed this happening? I wonder if something in the new patch is responsible?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#2)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 10-10-2006

It would have to be the map nav files - no map code was changed. :-/


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#3)
renartthefox
thefox
 
renartthefox's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 58
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kitsap County, WA
Warning Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 10-10-2006

There hasnt (as far as we know) been any changes to the nav files on the server. We'll have to have a chat with Vvlttch and see if thats possible, but it really seems a strange event. Hopefully we will be able to locate and eradicate the problem.


-=(thef0x)=-
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#4)
the bindlestiff
Member
 
the bindlestiff's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 280
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Washington state
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 10-10-2006

The map nav files are the same as what we were using before the patch. Why would this behavior show up after so long? Most of these maps have been in use for a number of months. Any suggestions about what to look for in the navs?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#5)
TomTom
ET Waypointing team member
 
TomTom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 742
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 10-10-2006

Alright a few shots in the dark...
Are you playing with a greatly increased number of bots (especially engineers)? My impression from dm_hillb2 testing is that sometimes when there is only one good objective and more than 2 engineers one of them gets bored (zombie).
Are any bots spectating? (did you add more bots than max_players?) in reactor_final I found making a bot spectate resulted in false statements during warmup about having no goals, followed by falsely attributed "kill himself messages" during game play.

Beyond that I am duplicating this from my other post...

LOGS:
Check to see if the files Fritzbot\etserver.log Fritzbot\etconsole.log exist. If so rename or copy them so they won't be erased when you restart ET. There is a small chance these files may help.
This web page show how to start logging the server and console. Be warned the console gets verbose if you do this,.


.one Ringstellung to rule them all.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#6)
the bindlestiff
Member
 
the bindlestiff's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 280
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Washington state
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 10-10-2006

We were playing with the usual bot list on the killbox server: eight bots on a side plus two or three humans. The same setup as we've been using for several months. No bots spectating, nowhere near the max number of bots allowed. Two engineers on each team. Sometime the errors occured in the middle of the game and sometimes near the beginning; all classes were included as far as I can remember. Sometimes it was just one bot, sometimes many. No problems during warmup. It seemed to me that it was always Allied bots, but the f0x may remember his team better than I since he usually plays Axis.

Same maps, same navs, same aiscripts, as before and we didn't see these errors earlier. It'd be something that a waypointer might see while working on a map and who would fix it then and there. There's no apparent reason for it to take so long to show up. ?????
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#7)
nedd3h
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 161
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Qld - Australia
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 10-10-2006

I saw this while playing Reactor on Allied. Two allied soldiers.
g_minbots 8
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#8)
vlvttch
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 92
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 10-10-2006

I've noticed this since the update. Bots without goals all of a sudden. It appears to be fairly random from map to map.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#9)
TomTom
ET Waypointing team member
 
TomTom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 742
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 12-10-2006

Saw in a /condump for the tail end of sw_el_kef 5+ cycles of 2 axis field ops and 3 axis medics with no goals. Campaign was fritzA, 10-9bots+1human. Might have been when i was running with the transmitter or shortly thereafter. The dump shows it corrected itself and the game continued to completion. If I can get this to repeat I will post the details in a bug report form.
Beyond that just the dreaded campaign window substituting default campaigns for campaigns that are perfectly good (I normally use the console or command line).
But I can't say whether this is related to the update.


.one Ringstellung to rule them all.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Has anyone else seen these errors?
Old
  (#10)
Maleficus
Member
 
Maleficus's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Default Re: Has anyone else seen these errors? - 12-10-2006

It looks like a bug somewhere in the patch. Try rolling back to the original final release, and see if you notice the bugs.

If its the patch, I'll pull it.


Dum Spiro Spero


  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com