.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > Grave Bot
Grave Bot Artificially deadly intelligence for S&I by Ghoul Science & IndustryHLDM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Can I force download of models from my server?
Old
  (#1)
intelliq
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 33
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default Can I force download of models from my server? - 28-03-2005

Hello, I switched over from HPB Bot to GraveBot and what a difference!
These bots are evasive and much harder to hit. Great job!

Im running a dedicated server and would like it when people join they automatically download the models Im using with gravebot.

Right now, Elvis, PinkPanther, and Scorpion, are being seen as orange guys when they join. Im using an http site to host my maps, res files, and models, -so the maps download to the clients faster, but the models do not automatically download to the clients.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Can I force download of models from my server?
Old
  (#2)
silentrunner007
Bot user
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ,USA
Default Re: Can I force download of models from my server? - 29-03-2005

yes set up a res file. i used crossfire to download my servers custom models for the bots.


heres my res file for crossfire....


Quote:
// .\crossfire.res - created with RESGen v1.00
// RESGen is made by Jeroen "ShadowLord" Bogers
// URL: http://www.unitedadmins.com/mapRESGEN.asp
// Res creation date, GMT timezone (dd-mm-yyyy): 27-07-2001
// .res entries:
//maps/crossfire.res
//halflife.wad
//sound/weapons/sbarrel1.wav
//sound/ambience/siren.wav
//sound/ambience/jetflyby1.wav
//sound/weapons/mortarhit.wav
//sound/debris/beamstart11.wav
//sound/weapons/electro5.wav
//sprites/muzzleflash1.spr
//sprites/steam1.spr
models/player/robo_patriot/robo_patriot.mdl
models/player/misswong/misswong.mdl
i only use crossfire for the model downloads but you can add the models downloads to other maps(all the maps in your mapcycle if you wanted).

if you are taking advantage of sv_downloadurl make sure you upload the models and the res file to your webserver also.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Can I force download of models from my server?
Old
  (#3)
intelliq
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 33
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default Re: Can I force download of models from my server? - 01-04-2005

Thank you.
Is there any possible way to specify certain models for certain maps though?

Like Crossfire: I want
bot1: gordon
bot2: scientist
bot3: gina

For Datacore: I want
bot1: pink_panther
bot2: scorpion
bot3: gman

For Stalkyard: I want
bot1: gman
bot2: zombie
bot3: homer

Is there a possible way to do this?
Thanks in advance.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Can I force download of models from my server?
Old
  (#4)
silentrunner007
Bot user
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ,USA
Default Re: Can I force download of models from my server? - 01-04-2005

With HPB i think you could have done that by having a custom bot cfg file for each map. I am not sure if it can be done with grave_bot though. I guess you will have to wait and see if Ghoul can give you an answer to this.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Can I force download of models from my server?
Old
  (#5)
intelliq
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 33
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default Re: Can I force download of models from my server? - 07-04-2005

BUMP.

Ghoul, is this possible?
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Can I force download of models from my server?
Old
  (#6)
silentrunner007
Bot user
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ,USA
Default Re: Can I force download of models from my server? - 08-04-2005

i expiremented a little and i think the answer is gonna be no.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Can I force download of models from my server?
Old
  (#7)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Can I force download of models from my server? - 09-04-2005

I believe the only way to do that would be to write a plugin.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com