.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > HPB_bot
HPB_bot The trusty good ole mechs by botman HLDMTFCOpposing ForceDMCFront Line Force

Reply
 
Thread Tools
can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools)
Old
  (#1)
MusicMan
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools) - 21-05-2004

Hi, here's the deal. I downloaded and extracted botman's BSP tools from the filebase to my harddrive. I start the bsp viewer executable file and it says that "C:\Sierra\Half-Life" does not exist and I should change the path in the .cfg file. Fair enough, so I change the path to point to my "Steam\SteamApps\my@email\half-life" directory. Then I start the executable again and it says that it cant find the half-life\valve folder? I check to see if its there and it is. Still does not work. I then tīcheck the changes.txt file included with the BSP tools and at the top it says "Fixed the half-life\valve folder bug" or something similar. Is this bug not really fixed or...? can someone help me out here?

Thanks in advance
   
Reply With Quote
Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools)
Old
  (#2)
botman
Super Moderator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 280
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Default Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools) - 21-05-2004

The BSP tools don't support Steam.

You'll have to install the non-Steam version of Half-Life if you want to use the BSP tools.

botman
   
Reply With Quote
Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools)
Old
  (#3)
MusicMan
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools) - 21-05-2004

ok, thanks botman. by non-Steam do you mean retail, because thats the only other one I have
   
Reply With Quote
Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools)
Old
  (#4)
botman
Super Moderator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 280
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Default Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools) - 22-05-2004

Yes, the retail version of Half-Life (on a CD) should be the non-Steam one.

It should install itself into C:\Sierra\Half-Life by default.

botman
   
Reply With Quote
Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools)
Old
  (#5)
Sydslag
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: uk
Default Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools) - 25-09-2016

I have same problems cant get bsp tools to work or load correctly i'm on windows 10 with cd install of won Half-Life
My dir is C:\Sierra\Half-Life
My dir is C:\BSP_tool for the tools

BSP_tool cfg looks like this below

//
// BSP tool configuration file
//
// BSP_tools by botman (http://planethalflife.com/botman)
//

// lines beginning with double slash characters are comment lines

// specify the name of the spawn point entity (only uncomment one of these)
//$spawnpoint info_player_start // Single player spawn point
$spawnpoint info_player_deathmatch // Half-Life deathmatch spawn point
//$spawnpoint info_player_teamspawn // Team Fortress Classic spawn point
//$spawnpoint info_player_deathmatch // Counter-Strike Terrorist spawn point
//$spawnpoint info_player_start // Counter-Strike Counter-Terrorist spawn point

// Half-Life directory
$halflife_dir C:\SIERRA\Half-Life

Setting BSP_tool in administrator mode
Launching command prompt in administrator mode
Changing directory command prompt to c:\
Copying and pasting C:\BSP_tool> bsp_tool -s stalkyard.bsp

gives me acess denied error in command prompt


Any help or ideas please?

Last edited by Sydslag; 25-09-2016 at 15:06..
   
Reply With Quote
Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools)
Old
  (#6)
tschumann
Moderator
 
tschumann's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 140
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default Re: can't find half-life\valve? (botmans BSP tools) - 05-11-2016

What does -s do? Possibly it's trying to create a file and is failing because C:\BSP_tool doesn't have the right permissions or something like that. I'd try running in My Documents.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com