.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > JoeBot
JoeBot Furious mechs by @$3.1415rin Counter-Strike

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#1)
Khoralt
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 01-06-2004

When my server starts a new map, a single bot will join. I have min bots set to 2 and max at 3. Immediately after joining upon the start of a map, the bot leaves. This is all when their is no one else on the server.

If there's a person on the server, the bots will show up and stay, as expected.

I'd like the bots to play their little hearts out when no humans are there so that when people see the server, they see people (or in this case, bots) on it.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Be gentle; I'm new with both JoeBots and running a CS server.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#2)
Khoralt
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 01-06-2004

Sorry; I also should have stated what was in my bot.cfg and joebot.cfg files (at least what I assume are the applicable parts):

bot.cfg

Code:
#
 # Should bots enter the game when no humans are present ?
 #
 
 joinwhuman_max on
 
 #
 # Should bots join a team when no humans are present ?
 #
 
 joinwhuman_res on
 
 #
 # Number of bots to which the server will be filled automatically
 #
 
 min_bots 2
 max_bots 3
joebot.cfg

Code:
//
 // Should bots enter the game when no humans are present ?
 //
 
 jb_entergame 1
 
 //
 // Should bots join a team when no humans are present ?
 //
 
 jb_jointeam 1
 
 //
 // Number of bots to which the server will be filled automatically
 //
 
 jb_botsmin 2
 jb_botsmax 3
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#3)
Khoralt
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 07-06-2004

Any thoughts?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#4)
@$3.1415rin
Council Member, Author of JoeBOT
 
@$3.1415rin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Default Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 07-06-2004

the jb_jointeam and jb_entergame do the same like the whuman commands, exactly the same, so you can throw out one of those each - we gotta update the readme

dunno, already having tried even the 0 there ? somehow those commands are strange, sometimes

Code:
bool bc_joinwhumanmax(edict_t *pEntity,int iType,const char *arg1,const char *arg2,const char *arg3,const char *arg4){
 if(!*arg1){
  UTIL_ConsoleMessage( pEntity, "Usage: joinwhuman_max [on/off]\n");
  return true;
 }
 if(FStrEq(arg1,"on")){
  CVAR_SET_FLOAT("jb_entergame", 0);
 }
 else if(FStrEq(arg1,"off")){
  CVAR_SET_FLOAT("jb_entergame", 1);
 }
 if(CVAR_BOOL(jb_entergame)){
  UTIL_ConsoleMessage( pEntity, "Bots will join even if there are no human on the server ( max_bots )\n");
 }
 else{
  UTIL_ConsoleMessage( pEntity, "Bots will only join when a human is on the server ( max_bots )\n");
 }
 return true;
}
bool bc_joinwhumanres(edict_t *pEntity,int iType,const char *arg1,const char *arg2,const char *arg3,const char *arg4){
 if(!*arg1){
  UTIL_ConsoleMessage( pEntity, "Usage: joinwhuman_res [on/off]\n");
  return true;
 }
 if(FStrEq(arg1,"on")){
  CVAR_SET_FLOAT("jb_jointeam", 0);
 }
 else if(FStrEq(arg1,"off")){
  CVAR_SET_FLOAT("jb_jointeam", 1);
 }
 if(CVAR_BOOL(jb_jointeam)){
  UTIL_ConsoleMessage( pEntity, "Bots will respawn even if there are no human players on the server\n");
 }
 else{
  UTIL_ConsoleMessage( pEntity, "Bots will only respawn when a human player is on the server\n");
 }
 return true;
}



Last edited by @$3.1415rin; 07-06-2004 at 23:13..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#5)
Khoralt
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 07-06-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by @$3.1415rin
the jb_jointeam and jb_entergame do the same like the whuman commands, exactly the same, so you can throw out one of those each - we gotta update the readme
Which file takes precedence, joebot.cfg or bot.cfg? Why are there the two files as opposed to one that gets reloaded every round?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#6)
cruft
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 20-06-2004

joebot.cfg loads before bot.cfg so settings in bot.cfg take precedence.

joebot.cfg is only for setting CVARs, no commands will work. bot.cfg allows for commands and some commands will set CVARs.

Basically, you should use one or the other but not both for normal use.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#7)
Khoralt
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 21-06-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruft
Basically, you should use one or the other but not both for normal use.
To not use one, do you just delete it?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present
Old
  (#8)
cruft
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bots Don't Play Unless Human Present - 21-06-2004

You may leave the file empty with a comment/reminder to look at the "other" .cfg file.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com