.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > POD-Bot mm > Ideas
Ideas One idea per thread please! :)

View Poll Results: Remove AIM_OFFSETS?
Yes 13 81.25%
No 3 18.75%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#11)
sPlOrYgOn
<-- He did it.
 
sPlOrYgOn's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way.
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 12-06-2004

there's a problem with the bot aim code and this bot...
the botaim code makes these bots look either up or down..
nothing else..
I don't know whats wrong tho..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#12)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 4643'60N 043'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 12-06-2004

I don't see any reason why this code wouldn't work... I'll look into it when I get some time for that (not now).



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#13)
KWo
Developer of PODBot mm
 
KWo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,424
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 12-06-2004

About this problem bots looking up or down - I've noticed this since R2.1:
http://forums.bots-united.com/showthread.php?t=1663

Maybe this can help a bit - if You remember what exactly was changed in AIM code since 2.0 to 2.1...
Until R2.1 I as used a long time BOTAIM plugin (is great and I was very unhappy when it stoped work ). But OK - we will wait for You, Pierre. There are many other things to do for sPlOrYgOn - this AIM can wait now.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#14)
sPlOrYgOn
<-- He did it.
 
sPlOrYgOn's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way.
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 21-06-2004

I've figured it out why botaim was making them either aim up or down...
it's because i was editing pEdict->v.pitch_speed and pEdict->v.yaw_speed values...
after taking that piece of code out..
I saw how botaim worked..
It's pretty good except they were aiming off and hitting...
and they're turning was sort of annoying..
they kept moving up and down while turning as if they were moving along a sin/cos graph.
other than that it's good
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#15)
KWo
Developer of PODBot mm
 
KWo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,424
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 21-06-2004

Great! So now it will be possible to use this BOTAIM plugin again? Or You will include it to code of next beta? But for beginers - maybe will be good if they will can to disable it (some cvar in podbot.cfg...).
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#16)
>BKA< T Wrecks
Moderator [PBmm/Waypointing]& PODBot mm waypointer
 
>BKA< T Wrecks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 21-06-2004

Whatever method you choose, the aiming code really needs a boost...
With the current code, enemy bots sometimes approach each other in a long corridor, but they don't do anything! Then they run into each other, get stuck for a second, free themselves and walk away - without shooting at each other once! :'(
The other day when I tested WPs for a map, I saw a CT bot run to a camp WP and crouch - facing the wall, stupid bot. 9_9 Well, that was no problem - the real problem was that on the other side of the courtyard where the CT bot camped, maybe 20 meters (in RL) away, a T bot was already camping and looking in the direction of the CT bot!!! Now, the CT bot was sloooowly turning around until he came to face the T bot after 2 seconds of turning. Then... nothing happened for a second... two seconds... three seconds... and then, finally, the T bot opened fire! At that time, he's had the CT in his face for more than 10 seconds!



Roses are #FF0000, violets are #0000FF // all my base, are belong to you.

  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#17)
MarD
Waypointer/Moderator
 
MarD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,184
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada.. EH!?
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 14-09-2004

Heyyo,

I agree that the botaim code does need changes, cause I hate it how you just come face to face with a bot, n' their aim's perfect at close range cause that aim offset is like, nothing when you're right beside the guys.... lol.

I've never seen the bots have probs shooting me like that (maybe I'm lucky?).. the only prob I've seen is when they try to kill me with a knife, but I back up n' waste em with an mp5 or so... lol.

I also used to use the PODbot Botaim plugins by PMB. But 1 prob with it was that the bots only looked foward when running around, they wouldn't check random directions. PODbot v2.6mm does, but it tends to just look at 1 direction forever and then only change for a split second as they prepare to jump...

Speaking of bots jumping... can you guys add a pathwaypoint command for jump pathwaypoints? cause sometimes I fight forever to get a jumpwaypoint right when I know it's possible, it's just my movement skill sucks sometimes.

Anywho, back ontopic. Yeah, your idea for removing the aim offset? there's already a bot that has something like that, and you can only change their reaction time... this bot is called wbot. Try it, I think the botaim code for it is off an aimbot... it seriously feels like it, lol...

[EDIT]
also note with wbot how they pick up newer n' better pistols, something that I have yet to see with the great PODbot v2.6mm. 9_9


Later-a-much, and LONG LIVE THE D!,
(Link>>>MarD's Moddin' Site<<<Link) MarD

Rock Hound. (<Link)

Last edited by MarD; 14-09-2004 at 20:07..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#18)
KWo
Developer of PODBot mm
 
KWo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,424
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 15-09-2004

PMB's Botaim is already included in PB2.6mm code by sPlOrYgOn since about 2 months (if I remember good). The same about removing AIM_OFFSET (already done).
About jumping WP - we were already speaking about this, too. The problem is You never can't be 100% sure the jump is possible to do until You-self do this jump. That's why still exist this system. If You have some problem making jump WP's - maybe ask SoUlFaThEr - he is the biggest specialist of jump maps and WP's for them.
But I saw something at [E]PODBOT forum - You started learning C++ - so maybe You can implement this in bot-code and try if this is a good idea or not (sPlOrYgOn seems be busy now)?
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#19)
MarD
Waypointer/Moderator
 
MarD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,184
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada.. EH!?
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 15-09-2004

Heyyo,

Yep, I'm gonna force myself to learn C++. I've been telling myself for years that I'm gonna learn it n' then make a bot of my own... my original plan was to somehow convert RACCbot to Halo, n' name it the MarDBoT.. lol, that fell through when I realised I stildd diddn't know squat aboot C++, and that Halo doesn't support fakeclients (Singleplayer AI built into maps don't exactly count...), and there wasn't a sdk..

Right now this is a little out of my league to implement new things into bots, but I'mma try once I figure out stuff. BTW, your sig PMB that's off that fur fur (something like that) I think it's pretty straightfoward that it writes that sentence 500... lol, now to figure out C++ coding onna grander scale... a bot.


Later-a-much, and LONG LIVE THE D!,
(Link>>>MarD's Moddin' Site<<<Link) MarD

Rock Hound. (<Link)
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET?
Old
  (#20)
KWo
Developer of PODBot mm
 
KWo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,424
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: Remove AIM_OFFSET? - 15-09-2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarD
BTW, your sig PMB that's off that fur fur (something like that) I think it's pretty straightfoward that it writes that sentence 500...
Sorry, but because of my bad English I didn't understand what do you mean.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com