.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > E[POD]bot
E[POD]bot Evil mutants tamed out of POD-bot by The Storm and Markus Heiden Counter-Strike

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#11)
botmeister
Ex-Council Member
 
botmeister's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Default Re: players vs bots - 11-06-2005

mEAn is untested with e[POD]bot and full support is not built in for the bot at this time (easy for me to add if I ever get around to it or if someone else does it). If the e[POD]bot server side commands remain the same as they were for POD 2.x, then you could tell mEAn that POD bots are loaded and that should do the trick.

For bot balancing the critical command we need is for adding the bots to the game. Kicking the bots just uses the standard kick command (except for the new metamod PODbot which requires a special server side command).

If you have a static number of bots on one team, then there's no problem and you can just disable the bot balancing, but tell mEAn to enforce the bot vs human game play. This will stop ppl from joining the bot team (if they do, they will explode).


Maker of the (mEAn) Bot.Admin Manager

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." - Jan L.A. van de Snepscheut
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#12)
KWo
Developer of PODBot mm
 
KWo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,424
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default Re: players vs bots - 11-06-2005

Because the people wanted to mix bots (for fun), PODBOT E[POD]BOT and also IvPBOT on one server, we should 've change the syntax of commands calling them to let the people control separately each kind of bot they have on their servers. I mean (without puns this time ) for podbot mm we have prefix "pb" , for ivpbot we have prefix "ivp" and for e[pod]bot I suggested to use "epb" prefix (dunno if it's already done or not). All these prefixes are without quotes. Also a syntax of commands might be a bit different (for example for kicking or adding bots, fillserver etc) - so it needs separate code in mEAn for each bot and test with every podbot clone separately (and then also together) to make sure if it works.

[EDIT]
I forgot to say also about another podbot clone - YapB. It has also its-own prefix to DS server commands. It's "yapb".
[/EDIT]

Last edited by KWo; 11-06-2005 at 11:45..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#13)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,611
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: players vs bots - 11-06-2005

E[POD]bot will have the prefix epb in the next version.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#14)
brettyboy879
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default Re: players vs bots - 11-06-2005

ok well if mean mod wont work with epodbots, could you PLEASE just tell me a command a cvar i can set, or SOMTHING that can make my server players vs bots??

thanks alot

Brett
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#15)
botmeister
Ex-Council Member
 
botmeister's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Default Re: players vs bots - 12-06-2005

mEAn should work with e[POD]bot because from what I'm reading in here, it still uses the same syntax as the old POD 2.x used. I had forgotten that mEAn was configured to work with epod and the code is still in place (I checked).

To run mEAn with e[POD]bot specify in your command line that runs HLDS

+localinfo mbotmod epodbot

See the document install.txt for more details. epodbot support is not listed in there, but the syntax for the hlds command line is similar to that of the other bots that are listed.


Maker of the (mEAn) Bot.Admin Manager

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." - Jan L.A. van de Snepscheut
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#16)
brettyboy879
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default Re: players vs bots - 12-06-2005

ok, i installed it, and i know its set up right, becuase when i typed m_help in console, it gave me the lsit of commands. SO i typed m_botmode_botvshuman. (becuase thats al i wanted to do in teh first place) and nothing happened. SO i tried restarting the server, and still nothing happened. thanks for all your help you guys. ANd thanks in advance, if your still gonna help me. lol

thanks
BRETT
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#17)
Zacker
Project Leader, Lead Level Designer, Waypointer
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 337
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denmark
Default Re: players vs bots - 12-06-2005

Did you try "m_botmode_botvshuman 1", I mean with a 1 at the end?


Michael 'Zacker' Schmidt
Level Designer | IO Interactive
Former Game Director | Sands of War
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#18)
MarD
Waypointer/Moderator
 
MarD's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,184
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada.. EH!?
Default Re: players vs bots - 12-06-2005

Heyyo,

Well zacker, if you don't put in the value, it should show you the value such as

you type this in the console: sv_cheats
it'll show: sv_cheats is "1"

or something like that anywho...

if it says: unkown command "m_botmode_botvshuman" then it's probably installed wrong. make a shortcut of your hlds and put this in the end of the target line:

+localinfo mgamedll addons/metamod/dlls/metamod.dll +localinfo mbotmod podbot_mm

once again, check your liblist.gam file in your cstrike folder, make sure it says this:

gamedll "mean\mean.dll"

and that should get it to work. If you're not sure, post on here what your liblist.gam looks like.


Later-a-much, and LONG LIVE THE D!,
(Link>>>MarD's Moddin' Site<<<Link) MarD

Rock Hound. (<Link)
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#19)
brettyboy879
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default Re: players vs bots - 12-06-2005

alrighty, this is what my liblist.gam looks like

game "Counter-Strike"
url_info "www.counter-strike.net"
url_dl ""
version "1.5"
size "184000000"
svonly "0"
secure "0"
type "multiplayer_only"
cldll "1"
hlversion "1110"
nomodels "1"
nohimodel "1"
mpentity "info_player_deathmatch"
gamedll "EPODbot\EPB.dll"
gamedll_linux "EPODbot/EPB_i386.so"
gamedll "mean\mean.dll"
gamedll_linux "dlls/cs_i386.so"


I also copied and pasted all those commands in my server.cfg (it said to in the install.txt)

when my dedicated server is running, i type m_help and it gives me a list of commands. So dosnt that mean that its working? THen i type M_botmode_botvshuman, and nothing happens, i tried changing maps to see if it just needed to restart, but that didnt do anything either. By the way, if i havnt said yet, im using Epodbots.

thanks a bunch

BREtt
  
Reply With Quote
Re: players vs bots
Old
  (#20)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,611
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: players vs bots - 12-06-2005

Your liblist.gam is not correct. However try to tape in the console :
M_botmode_botvshuman 1
and don't forget the number one (1) and tell us what happen.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com