.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > SDK Programming discussions > Half-Life 1 SDK
Half-Life 1 SDK For developments focused around Half-Life (and its mods) Half-Life

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Supporting more than one player on the client
Old
  (#1)
Lazy
Member
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default Supporting more than one player on the client - 05-12-2004

A few days ago I got an idea to allow upto 4 players to play half-life on one machine at the same time.
The view would be split either half/half or into fours depending on how many people are active at the time.
So far I have it able to render the 4 views while putting inactive ones out of map bounds and looking down to keep up the framerate.

I realize almost all of the network messages have to be changed aswell as saving/loading, ect but I have run into an odd situation.

How can I have extra players on the client control their players on the server?
I've thought about:

- TCP/IP Sockets
- Shared memory area
- Sending commands containing information ( ugly, I know )

What would any of you do to get the angles/buttons/ect to the server?

Note: This would have no online capability but would support co-op and deathmatch locally.

Added before submit: Wrong place? It still has to do with the sdk... bah, I'm confused.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Supporting more than one player on the client
Old
  (#2)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: Supporting more than one player on the client - 07-12-2004

I would go through TCP/IP sockets. The game DLL would control 1 real client and 3 bots, the real client would use the HL network protocol, and the 3 others another protocol of yours. The advantage is that you don't need to send much to the game DLL (only position, angles, velocity and buttons). On the other hand, I wish you good luck modifying the client DLL, because I foresee quite a lot of changes of importance.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Reply With Quote
Re: Supporting more than one player on the client
Old
  (#3)
Lazy
Member
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default Re: Supporting more than one player on the client - 07-12-2004

Yeah, quite alot will have to be changed. Luckily somethings can be removed which should cut down the workload.

- view.cpp: ALOT has to be re-written
- HUD/sprites: Have to be drawn using TriAPI so they can be scaled down to fit the small screens
- Scoreboard: Can be replaced with scores in the upper-left
- SayText: Removed
- Spectator: Removed

Hopefully I won't have to change any movement code but I think the hardest part will be the views since I'm really bad when it comes to math.

Thanks for the advice, I'm going to start working out a protocol right away.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com