.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Game servers > Server admin help
Server admin help Post here your questions related to how to get a server working, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
No One can see my server
Old
  (#1)
HuntTheShunt
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2004
Default No One can see my server - 08-08-2004

I have had this working but now i've messed something up
I have turned of all my firewall stuff Kerio /norton and still no one can see my server.
I have set up an old modem so i can dial out and see what other guys see and steam cannot see my server.

I get this stuff when the server boots HLDS 4.1.1.1

No auth servers parsed
Disabling Valve Authentication.
Adding master server 207.173.177.11:27010
Adding master server 207.173.177.12:27010

i've thied
-nomaster 1
-insecure 0
in the server.cfg.

Any ideas

Thanks
Hunt.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: No One can see my server
Old
  (#2)
botmeister
Ex-Council Member
 
botmeister's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Default Re: No One can see my server - 10-08-2004

Are you using a router?


Maker of the (mEAn) Bot.Admin Manager

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." - Jan L.A. van de Snepscheut
  
Reply With Quote
Re: No One can see my server
Old
  (#3)
HuntTheShunt
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2004
Default Re: No One can see my server - 10-08-2004

Yes I use a router

In the past i've had a CS HLDS working ok
Now i've swapped PC's I cannot get it to work
Although oddly the steam HLDS has worked for a short period under the new setup.
That's why I thought it was a software setup thing.


The system uses an ADSL router on 192.168.7.1 nat on port forwarding on to 192.168.7.2 the ip of the PC that has the HLDS on.

I can connect and play from another PC on the network ok.
To see how others see my game server I dusted of my 56k modem and dialled out and hope fully back to my HLDS server.

I cannot see my server using steam.
I can ping my ip or what i presume is my router the ip that WhatIsMyIP.com
says is my ip 84.65.111.53.
but ping 192.168.7.1 router or 192.168.7.2 my HLDS serve does not work!


XP does not have the firewall enabled.


Hunt.

  
Reply With Quote
Re: No One can see my server
Old
  (#4)
botmeister
Ex-Council Member
 
botmeister's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Default Re: No One can see my server - 10-08-2004

Since your router IP is 84.65.111.53, you will be able to ping it from outside your LAN via the internet. You cannot however ping anything inside your LAN from the internet which is why a ping of 192.168.7.1 or .2 will not work.

You have to enable port forwarding on the router (84.65.111.53) so that it forwards packets based on the HLDS server port to the correct LAN ip (192.168.7.1).

Basically, you have to tell the router to forward all requests for port 27015 (that's the default for HLDS, but you may be using something different) to go to local IP 192.168.7.2 (which is where your server resides).

You also have to tell HLDS to use the router IP 84.65.111.53 by setting the CVAR "ip 84.65.111.53" so that server queries can determine what the correct IP for your server is (otherwise they will see the local LAN ip which is not assessible).

Finally, you have to make sure that your local server can communicate with the internet through the router (of course).


Maker of the (mEAn) Bot.Admin Manager

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." - Jan L.A. van de Snepscheut

Last edited by botmeister; 10-08-2004 at 21:29..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: No One can see my server
Old
  (#5)
HuntTheShunt
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2004
Default Re: No One can see my server - 11-08-2004

Thanks for that.
I've added the ip 84.65.111.53 to the command line and turned off all firewall stuff to test.
And now as you indicate it is now moaning about port 27015
not being available.
I thought when I set port forwarding to the 192.168.7.2 the ip of my network card of the PC that has the server that would be all ports.
Now I am stuck as to how to tell the router about port 27015.

What I cannot understand is I had a system running HLDS 1.5 none steam on the same system (different PC).
I used the same router modem SAR703 and switch;- with no port forwarding and the 192.168.7.3 of the pc was visible to others. I had this system running for more than 6 months with a regular bunch of up to 10 guys a night.

I've been told that my router/modem is old and that there are better/easier to set up router/modems out there for ADSL.

Any more help ideas are welcome.
Hunt
  
Reply With Quote
Re: No One can see my server
Old
  (#6)
HuntTheShunt
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2004
Default Re: No One can see my server - 14-08-2004

Hi All,
I've bought a new router billion5100 that has better portforwarding.
My server is now working thanks for the information guys.

Hunt
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com