.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Developer's Farm > SDK Programming discussions > Other SDKs
Other SDKs For developments focused around other games

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#11)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,618
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 02-09-2005

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazy
I still have to write a tool to extract all the textures from HL wads but the information about the format is near non-existant.
There is already tools for extracting the textures from the HL wads files. Just look at google.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#12)
Zacker
Project Leader, Lead Level Designer, Waypointer
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 337
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denmark
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 02-09-2005

Quote:
I still have to write a tool to extract all the textures from HL wads but the information about the format is near non-existant.
Wally?


Michael 'Zacker' Schmidt
Level Designer | IO Interactive
Former Game Director | Sands of War
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#13)
Lazy
Member
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 02-09-2005

Well, I'd need a tool which would extract the textures put them in the format q3 expects and place them in the proper directories.
Since no tool to my knowledge does this I will need to write one.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#14)
sfx1999
Member
 
sfx1999's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 534
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 03-09-2005

Look at the Quake 1 compile tools source and take it from there. I believe the only differences are the lightmaps are 32 bit and the textures have individual palettes. It is under GPL.


sfx1999.postcount++
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#15)
Whistler
Summoner
 
Whistler's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,499
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mist Village
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 03-09-2005

"Ok, so how legal is it to use HL BSP file information contained in bspfile.h?"

as long as you write all codes yourself, it should be no problem as the file format is not restricted.

but I think it's better to rename all the constant names

edit:
I think there is a HL map decompiler included with the Quake3 source code distribution (the bspc utility), so it should be okay to do so. Also as it's GPL'ed it could be better to copy stuff there.

Last edited by Whistler; 03-09-2005 at 12:02..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#16)
Lazy
Member
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 04-09-2005

Well, I'd use the same maps as they come from a half-life installation.
As luck would have it, both quake3 and hldm use the info_player_deathmatch entity as start points aswell as the entity structure in the bsp being the same.

Though, im still debating on how to implement this...
I could rip out all the q3bsp code, use compile flags or simply allow both types of maps to be used and build function pointers to certain functions depending on the map type being loaded.
I'm thinking #3 is the best option, same thing with the renderer.

[Edit]
I actually might go with the quake 1 engine as I already have it loading a half-life map.
The formats are so similar that you only need to set BSPVERSION to 30 inorder for it to load.
In-game however it looks like someone painted the BMRF with bloody vomit so I'll have to work on texturing.

Last edited by Lazy; 04-09-2005 at 03:20..
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#17)
sfx1999
Member
 
sfx1999's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 534
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 04-09-2005

Changing the BSP version does not work; I've tried it. You need to convert the lightmap and the texture lump. Each of the textures have a palette stored with them in HL, and in Quake they use the main palette. I am pretty sure that the lightmaps in HL are 24 bit also. They could be paletted, though.

Anyway, a texture in HL would be like this:

Code:
uchar r;
uchar g;
uchar b;
char *data;
Where as in Quake it would be:

Code:
char *data;


sfx1999.postcount++
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#18)
Lazy
Member
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 04-09-2005

Yeah, I know its different which is why the level came out looking like crap.
I'll have to write some new functions to handle the different textures/lightmaps but thats a job for tomorrow.
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#19)
sfx1999
Member
 
sfx1999's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 534
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 04-09-2005

Shit! I was going to give you some pseudo-code, but somehow my page got changed and I lost it. Oh well, I am sure you have the skills to do it. If not, I can help.


sfx1999.postcount++
  
Reply With Quote
Re: HL1 For other platforms?
Old
  (#20)
Lazy
Member
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default Re: HL1 For other platforms? - 04-09-2005

Bah!
The palette size should be at file_base + offset_to_mip_level_4 + ( ( tex_width * tex_height ) / 64 )...
But it isn't.
I have a document here that says the palette size is an word ( unsigned short ) after the 4th miplevel texture and that it should be 256.
I get nowhere near that number.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com