.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Enhancement Workshop > Metamod and metamod plugins
Metamod and metamod plugins Plugins and improvements for the metamod server-side mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#1)
ConViction
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Two questions about Stripper2. - 25-02-2008

Hi
I have 2 questions about Stripper2.

1.Is it possible to add light entity, and if it is, then how?
2.Is it possible to add custom .wad files with decals?

P.S. - Sorry about my bad english
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#2)
Archmage
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 28-02-2008

1) No.
2) I am almost certain the answer is no also.

Sorry. You can search the archives of botmans's forums but I can tell you I've researched extensively #1 and it cannot be done.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#3)
ConViction
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 28-02-2008

Thanks for the answer!
I have one more question about duplicating brush models. I've looked into Botman's crossfire sample and found this:
Code:
// Duplicate one of the "button" brush models near the "secret" door...
{
   classname/func_wall
   model/*24
   origin/250 1366 -152
}

// Duplicate another "button" brush model on the other side of the wall
// near the "secret" door...
{
   classname/func_wall
   model/*31
   origin/1044 86 -152
}
So, buttons really are near the secret door, but the origins are somewhere outside the map. I'm a little confused here...
Can someone explain to me how exactly this works. I really need to know this.

Thank you!
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#4)
Archmage
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 29-02-2008

That part always confused me too, lol. I just copied and pasted that into a config and it worked. Exactly how it worked I have no idea.

I am going to bring this thread to the attention of a friend and see if he can shed some light on this..
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#5)
desNotes
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 29-02-2008

Botman's explanation of where he got the buttons is a little confusing. The button comes from the back of the map where it starts the siren and closes the doors, etc. in the back. Then, once the button copied, it can be added where ever.

It is tricky to do because from what I remember the origins are relative and not absolute, making it is a pain.

As to the question regarding the addition of .wad files and decals I don't believe they can be added. However, I remember botman added a feature to the bots where they could spray decals after a kill from a file of decals, that would include custom sprays. I remember having my bots do it one time but don't remember how I set it up.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#6)
Archmage
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 29-02-2008

If the button is attached to a wall couldn't a light also be attached in the same way? I have found (by noclipping myself) an unused room in crossfire similar to the famous blue room but unlit and with no access. I would like to utilize it by means of a teleport but it is completely dark in there. Could I somehow clone a func_wall with a light on it and place it there?
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#7)
ConViction
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 29-02-2008

It's strange that when I change the model number, there is no buttons anymore.
Even if I just replace them like this:

classname/func_wall
model/*31
origin/250 1366 -152

classname/func_wall
model/*24
origin/1044 86 -152

It seems that the origin of duplicated brush somehow depends of this of original one.(I hope you know what I mean)
I can't think of another explanation of why they disappear...
Is there anyone besides Botman, who succeeded duplicating any brush
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#8)
Archmage
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 29-02-2008

Quote:
Is there anyone besides Botman, who succeeded duplicating any brush?
Yes, I have duplicated the HEV chargers in the map crossfire as below:

{
classname/func_recharge
model/*38
origin/-1170 -1240 160
}

And yes, the origin of the duplicated brush must be offset by its distance from its parent by adding the two values together. So if the origin of the original was (-1 1 -1) and the copy is to be located at (1 -1 2) the actual number you use for origin is (0 0 1). Hope that helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#9)
ConViction
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 29-02-2008

Now I got it. Thanks.
But can you tell me how exactly am I supposed to figure out the origin of "funcs"? Entities are easy, but funcs
The only way I know is to decompile the map and see what Hammer tells me, but there must be another way...

Last edited by ConViction; 29-02-2008 at 21:43..
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Two questions about Stripper2.
Old
  (#10)
Archmage
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Re: Two questions about Stripper2. - 29-02-2008

What I use is botman's bsp tool. You print out the map's models and get something like below:

Model index : 1
Model boundbox min (X): -144.000000
(Y): -2112.000000
(Z): -1728.000000
Model boundbox max (X): -112.000000
(Y): -2104.000000
(Z): -1680.000000

To get the origin out of this you take each value of x, y and z and split the difference. So for x value you take -144 and -112 giving you an x value of -128.

It is still a bit tedious but this is the only way I know how to do it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com