.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Game servers > Server admin help
Server admin help Post here your questions related to how to get a server working, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Portforwarding
Old
  (#1)
HuntTheShunt
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2004
Default Portforwarding - 16-04-2005

Hi guys,
How do I test if portforwarding is working?
I can ping my public IP from another pc on the same network that the router is connected to.
But how do I test if 27005 to 27015 is open/visible to CS players?

When looking in EYE the public ip is not visible but the local one is.

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Portforwarding
Old
  (#2)
Cpl. Shrike
ShrikeBot Coder/Moderator
 
Cpl. Shrike's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 550
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Default Re: Portforwarding - 20-04-2005

You can test forwarded port with a port scanner.
Just let it scan for port 27005 to 27015. You can not do this from your own lan/computer but has to be done from an outside connection.
(here you can find a port scanner)
However I almost know for sure that you need to open more ports for steam CS.

A quick search on google told me this:
ports to open:
tcp 6003, 7002
udp 27005, 27010, 27011, 27015, 27020
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Portforwarding
Old
  (#3)
robbob4
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: Portforwarding - 20-04-2005

personally to play & run a server all I have open on my router (other than other applications) is port
27015 to 27015 Both (FYI the ip set for this one is 192.168.1.101 [the local port of the server])
7130 to 7130 Both (FYI the ip set for this one is 192.168.1.100 [the local port of my computer])


   
Reply With Quote
Re: Portforwarding
Old
  (#4)
Jeffrccar
Member
 
Jeffrccar's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey USA
Default Re: Portforwarding - 21-04-2005

HuntTheShunt what router do you have?
If you can't get the ports to open because people are not joining.
Try these links
http://www.ladt.us/servers/hldsrouter.htm
Steampowered FAQ: Which ports to open

Also you need to put in the Server.cfg or Listenserver.cfg:
Code:
// Must specify sv_region, or it won't show up in Steam server browser
// 0: US East coast
// 1: US West coast
// 2: South America
// 3: Europe
// 4: Asia
// 5: Australia
// 6: Middle East
// 7: Africa
// 255: World
sv_region 0
sv_lan 0
and this will put your server online.

Last edited by Jeffrccar; 21-04-2005 at 22:58..
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Portforwarding
Old
  (#5)
HuntTheShunt
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2004
Default Re: Portforwarding - 21-06-2005

Thanks I will look into this.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrccar
HuntTheShunt what router do you have?
If you can't get the ports to open because people are not joining.
Try these links
http://www.ladt.us/servers/hldsrouter.htm
Steampowered FAQ: Which ports to open

Also you need to put in the Server.cfg or Listenserver.cfg:
Code:
// Must specify sv_region, or it won't show up in Steam server browser
// 0: US East coast
// 1: US West coast
// 2: South America
// 3: Europe
// 4: Asia
// 5: Australia
// 6: Middle East
// 7: Africa
// 255: World
sv_region 0
sv_lan 0
and this will put your server online.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Portforwarding
Old
  (#6)
HuntTheShunt
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: May 2004
Default Re: Portforwarding - 25-06-2005

Hi Guys,

Thanks to all the help on this forum I started again trying to get this port warding stuff to work.

After spending a day on this Iím still stuck ;(



Thanks to Cpl.Shrike I know for sure that my ports are not open.

Robbob4 has pointed out that other ports are used by HLDS so I now open all ports!

Jeffrccar:- the my router is Billion 5100.



But the ports stay shut.



Iíve set my router up using http://www.portforward.com/billion/bipac-5100w-dhcp.htm



LAN - Setup



DHCP



DHCP

ServerNoneRelay





Client IP Pool Starting Address







Size of Client IP Pool







Primary DNS Server







Secondary DNS Server







Remote DHCP Server







TCP/IP



IP Address







IP Subnet Mask







RIP Direction

NoneBothIn OnlyOut Only





RIP Version

RIP-1RIP-2BRIP-2MN/A





Multicast

IGMP-v1IGMP-v2None







I now wonder if I have blocked them off somehow?

Could I have blocked them? I did go to http://www.grc.com/ and close a lot of loop holes in my system. If so how do I open them back up.

I have XP but I am not using the xp firewall.

I use kerio and Norton for firewall stuff both of these are turned of for testing the ports.



Any more ideas guys?



   
Reply With Quote
Re: Portforwarding
Old
  (#7)
sPlOrYgOn
<-- He did it.
 
sPlOrYgOn's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way.
Default Re: Portforwarding - 25-06-2005

umm on the same site you found the guide for DHCP.. there's a port forwarding guide...
Billion 5100W Port Forwarding
Counter-Strike Server Port Forwarding
Half-Life Client Port Forwarding
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com