.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Game servers > Server admin help
Server admin help Post here your questions related to how to get a server working, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#1)
robbob4
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Steam Required for Lan? - 13-02-2005

is there a way I can set up HLDS where its not a steam server, I want to create a server on my lan. My problem is that not all my friends have Counter-Strike, and each steam account uses a cd key which only can be used once. Can I set up my server where you dont need to use a cd key in any way for clients to join? Or can we use the same steam acct since its lan.


   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#2)
P0S4L
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 14-02-2005

Dont think so. Each CD key used attaches a STEAM ID to it. Search NON STEAM
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#3)
robbob4
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 14-02-2005

search non steam? what do you mean, i'm SETTING up a LAN server, and I dont want it to become a steam server or a way to mak eit not matter for clients...

I know its sv_lan 1 but it still looks for steamids


   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#4)
botmeister
Ex-Council Member
 
botmeister's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 14-02-2005

have a look at this


Maker of the (mEAn) Bot.Admin Manager

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." - Jan L.A. van de Snepscheut
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#5)
robbob4
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 15-02-2005

but i'm using a a server thats seprated form Steam it self, and yet it still checks for steam ids etc... I havent had luck with the dedicated server within steam because I cant exactly install it completly on the comp, it still has to DL a bunch of crap in the background and it wont let me choose any map but cs_italy, even when I install others. I want to know if theres this offline mode for HLDS.exe in the HLServer folder...


   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#6)
botmeister
Ex-Council Member
 
botmeister's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 15-02-2005

Go here and register as a forum member. Once you are a member you can search for topics which will give you an answer one way or the other.

It may be that with thenew offline mode there's a HLDS startup switch such as -nomaster which will stop the dreaded steam authentication problem over a LAN.


Maker of the (mEAn) Bot.Admin Manager

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." - Jan L.A. van de Snepscheut
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#7)
robbob4
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 17-02-2005

Quote:
The following errors occurred during your registration:
  • The administrator has banned your email address. To contact the administrator click here
I have absolutly no idea why this is but until they email me back i'll try -nomaster


   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#8)
Lethal
Member
 
Lethal's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 163
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 17-02-2005

I have ran the same account twice in offline mode ie two different pc's with the same account on a listen server. no problems there. wasn't ded though, but listenserv didn't complain, I was in offline which I think is important since valve system might react badly if two computers logged into the same account at the same period. But i think its against the contract/law to have someone else use your account at the same time as you.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Steam Required for Lan?
Old
  (#9)
robbob4
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: Steam Required for Lan? - 18-02-2005

well i got it working, other than booster2 (which would double framerate & reduce cpu but oh well), by duplicating my old cs1.6 cd, and then making several duplicates of a custom cd that contains the retail 1.0.0.5 patch and amxx & plugins & modules. (BTW making duplicate cds cause we are installing to comps that have deep sleep [thing that restores the computer every restart]) Then in the command line I set -game cstrike -port 27015 -noipx -nomaster and changed secure to 0 in liblist.gam. This would cause the server not to dl the security module, not conenct to master server for authentication and would ahve no IPX support. 8D

PS just telling you guys if anyone else was doing something similar.



Last edited by robbob4; 18-02-2005 at 01:44..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com