.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > JKBotti
JKBotti The new generation of Half-Life bots by ghost of evilspy HLDMOpposing Force

Reply
 
Thread Tools
JK_Botti with DMC?
Old
  (#1)
Weasel
Member
 
Weasel's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Mar 2008
Warning JK_Botti with DMC? - 27-01-2011

Anybody got JK_Botti working with DMC (on Linux)?

I see console notifications about the bots joining the game, etc. but when I join from my client - they aren't in the game. They show-up on the multi-player list, but not actually running (or standing) around anywhere.

It works fine with my Linux HL(1) server, but under DMC the bots never seem to actually "spawn" into the game?
   
Reply With Quote
Re: JK_Botti with DMC?
Old
  (#2)
Whistler
Whistler
 
Whistler's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,477
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beijing, P. R. China
Default Re: JK_Botti with DMC? - 27-01-2011

something is needed to spawn bots in dmc (ie. issuing "_firstspawn" command), which is not done in jkbotti...
in other words, jkbotti simply does not support dmc
   
Reply With Quote
Re: JK_Botti with DMC?
Old
  (#3)
Weasel
Member
 
Weasel's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Re: JK_Botti with DMC? - 12-02-2011

Thanks. I thought I read somewhere that JK_Botti worked with DMC.

I'll give RCBot a try. I'd try HPB_Bot (MM), but last time I tried that I couldn't get it to work under Linux (was fine under Windows though).
   
Reply With Quote
Re: JK_Botti with DMC?
Old
  (#4)
RoboCop
vBulletin Veteran
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 61
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Default Re: JK_Botti with DMC? - 30-07-2016

@Weasel

Well jk_botti doesn't include the bot_start.cpp that is required for DMC and as Whistler says on "_firstspawn" command. But it is shouldn't be globally used for HLDM and Op4DM cos of fact that players automatically spawn when the MOTD appears, but in DMC you need to program the bot to manually spawn when "their" MOTD appears.

For bot_start.cpp to support JK_Botti that was used for HPB, you will need like "void BotStartGame" and to detect the "mod_id DMC_DLL" for that to work for DMC.

For example:-
Code:
void BotStartGame( bot_t *pBot )
{
   if (mod_id == DMC_DLL)
   {
	   FakeClientCommand(pEdict, "_firstspawn", NULL, NULL);
	   
	   pBot->not_started = 0;
   }
But that code is incomplete as you will also need to include the bot header files like bot_func.h and recode it for "BotStartGame".

I've been trying to alter and recompile JK_Botti for DMC by including the DMC weapons and ammo entities required, and works fine but without using bot_start.cpp. If you or anyone like to maybe help out if you wish, then that's up to you.





vBulletin Webmaster since 2001
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com