.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums irc server wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps waypoints yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > YappA > Half-Life 2, Source and Source Games
Half-Life 2, Source and Source Games Discuss about Valve's new FPS game and its mods here Half-Life 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools
fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#1)
chelseafc0512
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 03-06-2010

this is my friend 's computer:
Cpu intel core 2 duo E7200
gpu : Gts 250
Ram 3Gb
he plays cs:s
when he add 20-30 bots we can see the fps drops to about 3-40 fps when about 10-20 bots appears in one place
when he play Online fps~100 fps
so do you know fps drops because the bots use many cpu resource?or because other reasons?i think he has a good graphic card and cpu enough to play.do you encounter these problem when play with 20-30 bots?
http://s200.photobucket.com/albums/a...online1vs1.jpg
http://s200.photobucket.com/albums/a...inoneplace.jpg
http://s200.photobucket.com/albums/a...inoneplace.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#2)
Ancient
PodBot MM's Laziest Waypointer
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,010
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska, United States of America
Default Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 04-06-2010

Hmm a forum bug with the links.

I don't know if anyone here would be able to answer anything about CSBots.
I've also noticed that my frame rate suffers from having too many bots on, but... then again it's been 2 years since I last played.


[Web Designer][Waypointer][Gamer]
CFE Games Administrator
[CFE]Games.com
[Never Trust the Untrusted]
   
Reply With Quote
Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#3)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,560
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 05-06-2010

The bots eats lots of CPU, so that the problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#4)
chelseafc0512
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 06-06-2010

thank you ,some people tell me that
quote:
If he wants to play with 20-30 bots he will either need to make/buy a computer to act as a server

but with this solution ,in cs :cz ,cs 1.6 and cs:source ,please tell me:
how to enable the client to acess all the server command? (because i play on the clent computer)
and with this, how do the system known which computer is the server when i add bot on the computer i'm playing (the client computer)
will all the LAN server resource used for bot run on the server computer , or it will be devided into client's computer and server computer?
sorry for pool english :d
   
Reply With Quote
Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#5)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,560
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 06-06-2010

No need for separate pc to run lots of bots. You need a powerfull CPU(core 2 duo on 3.0Ghz) with some more RAM(1GB should be fine). I'm talking for more than 25 bots.

I will answer to your other questins too:
If you are running dedicated server and you connect to it in order to have access you can use rcon(read more about it on google) or some MOD like AMXX.
When you are adding bots to the server they will be only on server side, you can't add bots that will be running from your client side.(I hope I was able to make it clear )
About the network traffic, the bots are inside the server so no download traffic will be generated from them, only upload in order to update the bots positions on the real clients.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#6)
chelseafc0512
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 06-06-2010

thank you for helping :d
quote:
No need for separate pc to run lots of bots. You need a powerfull CPU(core 2 duo on 3.0Ghz) with some more RAM(1GB should be fine). I'm talking for more than 25 bots.

yes, but i don't know if cs:s can run on many core or not.this is a reply on
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...2#post15252172

CS:S is already a heavily CPU demanding game since it doesnt support multicores, only uses singlecores. so yeah adding 20 bots at a 2.5 ghz processer really rapes the framerate. the GPU has compared to the CPU a minor role in fps.

i am using dual core 2.5 hz (E5300) ,i think it may be OC to 3.3 ghz ,so
I WONDER CSS CAN RUN ON MANY CORE OR NOT BEFORE BUYING A NEW CPU (because the price of the cpu are not cheap in my country )

quote:
About the network traffic, the bots are inside the server so no download traffic will be generated from them, only upload in order to update the bots positions on the real clients.

no i didn't talk about the network traffic(sorry for bad english), i talk about the cpu usage by the bots will be load the server computer , or it will be devided into client's computer and server computer? (i mean the bots will use the cpu of server computer or both cpu of client computer and server computer?
   
Reply With Quote
Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#7)
The Storm
Council Member / E[POD]bot developer
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,560
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Default Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 06-06-2010

Yes CS and CS:S are using only one core, thats way I suggested 3Ghz(if you can get 3.2Ghz it will be even better) the second core will be for other OS background tasks. This way your PC will be more responsive.

About the load on the server computer, the bots will eat more CPU only on the server machine, for the real clients - bots and other players are no difference.

Note: Core 2 Duo CPU is much better than Dual Core one. The Core 2 Duo is based on the new Intel technologies and have much more cache. The Dual Core is almost a regular Pentium 4 but with 2 cores.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place?
Old
  (#8)
chelseafc0512
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: fps drops when many bots appear in one place? - 07-06-2010

yes, thank you for this help
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com