.:: Bots United ::.  
filebase forums discord server github wiki web
cubebot epodbot fritzbot gravebot grogbot hpbbot ivpbot jkbotti joebot
meanmod podbotmm racc rcbot realbot sandbot shrikebot soulfathermaps yapb

Go Back   .:: Bots United ::. > Cyborg Factory > POD-Bot mm > Releases, Installers, Docs & Coding
Releases, Installers, Docs & Coding Where the official development happens

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#491)
sPlOrYgOn
<-- He did it.
 
sPlOrYgOn's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way.
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

this going to be hard...
and while looking through the WaypointAdd function i notice that when setting a camp waypoint's camp end angles it doesn't set bPlaceNew to FALSE and that would make it place a new waypoint along with the camp end right?
[edit]
oh nm.. i should probably look closer first...
[/edit]
[edit2]
k i found where he stops it from adding through func illusionary but I don't know what it returns if it goes through a model..
[/edit2]
[edit3]
alright now i can compile the podbot.dll to be 232kB in size.
goto Projects>Settings.
then the C/C++ tab
Change the Optimizations to "Minimum Size"
[/edit3]
[edit4]
shouldn't all the TRUE and FALSE be true and false?
[/edit4]

Last edited by sPlOrYgOn; 14-04-2004 at 07:55..
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#492)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

Post code, guys, post code, whenever you find anything, post 10 lines of code or so. I can help in anything provided you post your code.

TRUE and FALSE are defined in the HL SDK as 1 and 0, which is fine for use with "bool" since "bool" has in fact a character size (8-bit) on our computers.

Use my PMTools plugin to trace lines and hulls through one of these models with different parameters to find out which parameters are blocked by the model.


*edit* just a suggestion: SF is right, you'll get yourselves all messed up. As long as nothing like the SourceForge CVS is available on Bots United I suggest you define a "team leader" in charge of maintaining the "official" source tree and validating the bugfixes you send him. PLEASE for him, send him ACCURATE bugfixes (e.g, "change line x to y and insert code z at line l") and not "I thought you could do this and that etc..." with no real, working code to show.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."

Last edited by Pierre-Marie Baty; 14-04-2004 at 10:13..
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#493)
MusicMan
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

deleted post myself.

MusicMan

Last edited by MusicMan; 14-04-2004 at 20:07..
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#494)
sPlOrYgOn
<-- He did it.
 
sPlOrYgOn's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way.
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

Now the only code i can think of that wasn't posted here when the source was edited is probably what austin did to his waypoint menus.
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#495)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

MusicMan, why the heck do you do this ?
The definition of UTIL_ShowMenu is
void UTIL_ShowMenu (edict_t *pEdict, int slots, int displaytime, bool needmore, char *pText)
the third parameter is the time the bot menu should be displayed on your screen. -1 means 'always', i.e until a choice is made. Almost ALL the occurences of UTIL_ShowMenu in the code use -1. Why are you passing a character ('\0') instead where an integer duration (number of seconds) is expected ??



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#496)
Pierre-Marie Baty
Roi de France
 
Pierre-Marie Baty's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,049
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 46°43'60N 0°43'0W 0.187A
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

To fix SoUlFaThEr's problem of bots hitting buttons randomly (actually the bots LOVE to hit any button they see), I think all is needed is disabling the "func_button" check in BotFindItem(). The bots should then only use buttons when they are declared in their waypoint through the button flag.



RACC home - Bots-United: beer, babies & bots (especially the latter)
"Learn to think by yourself, else others will do it for you."
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#497)
MusicMan
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

i dunno. I am an idiot

BTW I found in the bot.h file your definition of the teams:

#define TEAM_CS_TERRORIST 0
#define TEAM_CS_COUNTER 1

is this possibly what you are talking about?

BTW I never read the function for the UTIL_ShowMenu so thats probably why I just fucked and guessed that it might have got something to do with it

MusicMan
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#498)
SoUlFaThEr
Moderator
 
SoUlFaThEr's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 860
Join Date: Mar 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

ok.....so whats working and whats not?

im REALLY confused now!!!!!

hehe is that posted musicman download working or not?


  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#499)
MusicMan
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

forget about my .dll for now

It does not do any good.

MusicMan
  
Re: POD-bot back into shape.
Old
  (#500)
SoUlFaThEr
Moderator
 
SoUlFaThEr's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 860
Join Date: Mar 2004
Default Re: POD-bot back into shape. - 14-04-2004

then do me a favor and test it thoroughly before you upload...

just uploading it is only going to stop all of us from waypointing if we get something that doesnt work at all

believe me i am happy that someone will continue.....but continue with proper downloads......test them, get them approved and such.......this way.....when you do upload.....we have the feeling already that it will work because we know HOW you are working


  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com