.:: Bots United ::.

.:: Bots United ::. (http://forums.bots-united.com/index.php)
-   General Bot Coding (http://forums.bots-united.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Trouble starting HPB_bot 4 (http://forums.bots-united.com/showthread.php?t=2998)

MUSICAL_DUCK 18-11-2004 00:32

Trouble starting HPB_bot 4
 
Hi everyone, this is my first bot(ched :( ) attempt so have mercy plz 9_9

I am trying to write a bot for the rival species mod. (An older non steam version, which I will later hopefully port to steam)

So far I have managed to:

1. Extract source code and build HPB_bot project using M$ Visual C++ v.6 (yay)

2. I have updated the linkfunc.cpp file with the new entity functions

3. The h_export.cpp file has been updated with the new mod path info.

4. The bot.h file has also been updated with a new #define RIVALSPECIES_DLL 6

5. The project was build successfully.

6. Moved HPB_Bot.dll to rspecies/dlls

7. Edited liblist.gam file (gamedll "dlls/HPB_bot.dll)"

As you can see I followed the Readme/tutorial which came with HPB_Bot.

Now the fun starts :)

When I try to load the mod I get an exception. (Looks like a null pointer exception : application tried to reference something near zero)

I can't seem to get the debugger going (even with the dedicated server as suggested in another post [hlds tried to execute privileged instuction])

As far as I can tell none of the code I have added has executed so I believe I have either set up msvc incorrectly or I am missing some step.

Does anyone have any ideas?
Thx in advance

(I code better than I spell ... I hope :) )

MUSICAL_DUCK 21-11-2004 21:56

Re: Trouble starting HPB_bot 4
 
Found the bug :)

//LINK_ENTITY_TO_FUNC(GiveFnptrsToDll);

^
|

This fixed it :)

Now to buy stuff from menu... (yikes 2mb log files :( )

Pierre-Marie Baty 22-11-2004 18:12

Re: Trouble starting HPB_bot 4
 
For the buy stuff generally it's either about client commands (if you know them, just make your bots issue them), or impulse messages. If you need to wait for a particular menu to display catch the network message that displays it and have the bot send it stuff after that.

I will move this thread to the bot coders forum, I think that's where it belongs. :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.