.:: Bots United ::.

.:: Bots United ::. (http://forums.bots-united.com/index.php)
-   Half-Life 1 SDK (http://forums.bots-united.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   prevent precaching/Reslists (steam) (http://forums.bots-united.com/showthread.php?t=1972)

dead bwoy 14-06-2004 23:17

prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
1: Does anyone know how to prevent the precaching of a certain file?
2: Does anyone know where to find info on the reslists folder and how steam uses these files?

Pierre-Marie Baty 15-06-2004 00:22

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
Preventing a file to precache will cause the game to crash when it'll want to use it (such as spawning the entity for a .mdl file). Are you sure that's what you want to do ?

BTW there'll be coding involved, I think this post belongs rather to the coding forums...

dead bwoy 15-06-2004 00:43

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
I want to substitute a default precached file with my own which changes on map change (ServerDeactivate/pfnChangeLevel?).
ie:
Code:

server start: de_dust
substitute BotProfile.db with DesertBots.db
precache models in DesertBots.db
run AddDesBots.cfg
play map with desert camo models
change map: fy_iceworld
substitute BotProfile.db with ArcticBots.db
precache models in ArcticBots.db
run AddArcBots.cfg
play map with arctic camo models

I'm assuming that if I can tell the engine which Bot Profile to load on each map change it will only precache the models in that bot profile instead of precaching all models in the master BotProfile.db (50+) which I can't do now because of the 512 precache limit. Thanks to Splorygon, I've been editing the cfg loader he made out of the HPB_Bot template to try and allow this map specific model minipulation.

dead bwoy 15-06-2004 03:01

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
BTW there'll be coding involved, I think this post belongs rather to the coding forums...

So there's no way to use the resfiles to do this? I noticed map-specific .lst files under internal preloads.lst, so I was thinking I could add the map-specific profiles and models here or in a res file for the map. Problem is, how do I prevent the precaching of BotProfile.db? In reslists/Condition Zero/excludes.lst or reslists/Counter-Strike/excludes.lst? The ClientGameInfo.vdf states:
Code:

"primarycache" "81" // Base Condition Zero Content (Condition Zero.gcf)
"dependantOnApp" "10" // Counter-Strike (Counter-Strike.gcf)

So does that mean I need to edit the Condition Zero/reslists/ or Counter-Strike/reslists/? The liblist.gam states:
Code:

fallback_dir "cstrike"
So I would think it would be Condition Zero/reslists/, but then again, czero is dependant on cstrike so maybe it would be Counter-Strike/reslists/...

Anyone???...??????:(

Edit: Anyone know where to find where the clientMax is defined? I want to override the maxplayers set at ServerActivate on each map change.

dead bwoy 30-06-2004 03:10

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
***bump***

Pierre-Marie Baty 30-06-2004 13:26

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
All I can say is that you can't override the maxplayers in ServerActivate... you can't force the server to have a different number of players than it was meant to have initially. The only thing you can do is limit the number of players connecting.

For the rest, I have strictly no idea...

dead bwoy 01-07-2004 22:32

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
Well, I'm guessing that the maxplayers is hardcoded in the mp.dll for the tour of duty missions then. I was hoping there would be a way to trick it into changing the maxplayers, there being a user input field for maxplayers on a normal mp server, but I see how they're different and this may not be possible. The only other thing I can think of is messing with steam files... like the launch properties field, or something.... I'll see what I can find...

dstruct2k 25-08-2004 09:21

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dead bwoy
Well, I'm guessing that the maxplayers is hardcoded in the mp.dll for the tour of duty missions then. I was hoping there would be a way to trick it into changing the maxplayers, there being a user input field for maxplayers on a normal mp server, but I see how they're different and this may not be possible. The only other thing I can think of is messing with steam files... like the launch properties field, or something.... I'll see what I can find...

You can trick the game into allowing another player to join a tour of duty server. Remove the sv_password (or change to something like 123) and kick a bot. :)

sPlOrYgOn 25-08-2004 22:00

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
I added podbots on my side and turned on inhumanturns :D

Pierre-Marie Baty 26-08-2004 04:34

Re: prevent precaching/Reslists (steam)
 
lol, cheata :D


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.