.:: Bots United ::.

.:: Bots United ::. (http://forums.bots-united.com/index.php)
-   Half-Life 1 SDK (http://forums.bots-united.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Debug mm dll on CZ client (http://forums.bots-united.com/showthread.php?t=3622)

Austin 20-02-2005 08:43

Debug mm dll on CZ client
 
Ok I am trying to debug a mm plugin for CZ using .NET 2003.
I have everything setup for debugging and it runs fine under the debugger but break points don't work. The ide gives me this message when I hold the mouse pointer over the red breakpoint with a ? in it. "the breakpoint will not currently be hit. No executible code is currently at this location."

The breaks points ARE on executible code, and this code IS being called once I am in the game.

My setting for the debugger is.

Command:
C:\CS\Steam\Steam.exe

Command Arguments:
-applaunch 80 -game "czero" +map de_dust2_cz +maxplayers 32

Working Directory:
C:\CS\Steam\

Attach:
No

The build is a debug build. Any ideas why this isn't working???

stefanhendriks 20-02-2005 11:12

Re: Debug mm dll on CZ client
 
i have no clue, but a little guess would be to use -allowdebug. As with HL2 it allows you to run a debugged version then. *PERHAPS* it will do some magic for you then.

If that does not work, i'm afraid the story that you cannot debug on STEAM is true... (i never debugged on STEAM btw, i used trial and error :()

Pierre-Marie Baty 20-02-2005 13:34

Re: Debug mm dll on CZ client
 
ditto... I never managed to make any Debug build run properly on HL1/Steam :(

Perhaps it would work on dedicated servers, but one thing's for sure, not on listen servers.

link2002 21-02-2005 23:30

Re: Debug mm dll on CZ client
 
:D

http://articles.thewavelength.net/382/

Austin 22-02-2005 07:03

Re: Debug mm dll on CZ client
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by link2002

Thanks for the link.
Have you actually used this to successfully setup a client cz debug session?
The article has some vague and missing information.

1) it says to:
Place your mod in the directory of the program you launched in step 2 (i.e c:\program files\steam\steamapps\<email addr>\Half-Life)

Well the mod is cz. should I copy the entire ..\condition zero folder into the
steamapps\<email addr>\Half-Life folder?

is the mod directory ..\condition zero\czero
or \condition zero ????

I tried copying both directories and still get a message box when I try to startup hl.exe
with these parameters.
C:\CS\Steam\SteamApps\<user>\half-life\hl.exe -Steam -applaunch 80 -game "czero" +map de_dust2_cz +maxplayers 32

hl.exe tells me:
Files: Src\EngineClientManager.cpp
Line 1361

nRet > 0

an exception is thrown after this dialog is canceled and the jit show hl.exe calling Steam.dll and about 7 calls down it forces an int3.

I also tried setting up th eSteamApp.cfg in the condition zero folder but still get the same error.

Some other things:
The article says to use 70 for the SteamAppId.
Is this valid for cz?

Well thanks for the info but I still can't get it to work.

Pierre-Marie Baty 22-02-2005 14:42

Re: Debug mm dll on CZ client
 
I tried the method described in this article but it doesn't seem to work either. The debugger attaches correctly, but just when the world is spawned and the game is about to start, something exits with error code 1 and the whole thing gets on the knees.

@Austin: the mod is CZ, but with Steam, each Steam game has its own copy of the HL engine. You do not need to worry about copying the czero folder. The only thing is that you must change the Steam app number, because here it's not a mod running on the HL engine used for Half-Life (Steam app ID 70) but the default mod (czero) running on the HL engine used for Condition Zero (hence Steam app ID = 80)

You can get the Steam app ID of any Steam app by right-clicking on it in the Steam games list and choosing "create a shortcut on the desktop" and then look at the shortcut's parameters.

However I've set up everything like said, but I can't seem to get the thing running. It attaches, starts a game and then breaks. I'm pretty sure it's not a IsDebuggerPresent() check, because it would have crashed much earlier.

*edit*

for those who are interested, my SteamApps.cfg says this (for CZ):
Quote:

SteamAppId=80
SteamAppVersionId=0
SteamInstallPath=D:\Steam
SteamAppUser=pm@racc-ai.com

Austin 24-02-2005 03:38

Re: Debug mm dll on CZ client
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
You can get the Steam app ID of any Steam app by right-clicking on it in the Steam games list and choosing "create a shortcut on the desktop" and then look at the shortcut's parameters.

Thanks PM, I missed that!

I found a little more info here:
http://articles.thewavelength.net/650/

tried everything, still no joy....


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.