.:: Bots United ::.

.:: Bots United ::. (http://forums.bots-united.com/index.php)
-   Releases, Installers, Docs & Coding (http://forums.bots-united.com/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   POD-bot back into shape. (http://forums.bots-united.com/showthread.php?t=833)

sPlOrYgOn 02-04-2004 05:21

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
did anyone else see the crouch waypoint grow when soulfather went next to it in his demo? (I feel like i'm being picky 9_9 )

SoUlFaThEr 02-04-2004 07:27

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
1 Attachment(s)
i already mentioned that one time.......that all crouched type waypoints(camp or not) have a full waypoint with them.......as if the full one is representing the flag.......

but theres no flag on a normal waypoint

i got a new DEMO here about how bots actually have a problem with LADDERs

such that they will willingly go back through a set of 3 waypoints that are ONE-WAY in........bot has problems on many maps with the bottom ladder waypoint.....he goes back up first before actualy going down fully......

Pierre-Marie Baty 02-04-2004 07:41

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Yes, there were parts of the old code for camping waypoints remaining. I had to get rid of them and convert them to take ANGLES instead of vectors. The new camp waypoints work well now, and they finally work the way they are meant to (which has NEVER been the case so far with any version of POD-Bot), meaning that the bots now use the camp directions correctly.

The problem is that the POD-Bot waypointers have to redo ALL their camp points to make them compatible now, because all their camp directions will be messed up.

It's not necessary when using another flavor of POD-bot, because in none of them the camp directions are working correctly. But if you expect them to work right with this one, you have to redo (well, "do finally" would be more correct) all the camp waypoints.

I've also rewritten the FL_NOHOSTAGE waypoint handling in a cleaner way. I don't know if it will help to fix anycrap because honestly I have spectated these bots for 2 HOURS full in cs_assault, and I have NEVER seen one use a no-hostage waypoint incorrectly, I mean on purpose. The only case that can happen is when the bot is believing no hostage is following it.

I notice the bots still throw grenades very stupidly. I don't know what to do about this. It must be the algorithm Count Floyd made them use which must be intrinsically wrong. Perhaps some day I'll try to bang my head on this one.

I'm uploading the new bot.
http://racc.bots-united.com/releases/podbot.zip

*edit* I've also added Austin's new menu for the waypoint editor (autopath maxdistance)...
btw, the bot is finished uploading - go for it.

SoUlFaThEr 02-04-2004 07:45

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
omg........all the official waypoints again.......its all worth it in my eyes !!

does the camp thing now point exactly where we point when placing the waypoint?

Austin 02-04-2004 07:56

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SoUlFaThEr
i got a new DEMO here about how bots actually have a problem with LADDERs

I have never gotten demos to play. What so do i have to do?

Do I start a LAN game choose the same map? the demoe was recorded in?
and then type
playdemo demoname.dem
After a pick a team?
????
They NEVER work for me never.

Pierre-Marie Baty 02-04-2004 07:58

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
yes, that's what I mean
...well, NORMALLY eh, as usuals I might very well have screwed something else up :D

SoUlFaThEr 02-04-2004 07:58

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
go to Mr. Google

tell him :

geekplay

dl that its really simple......show the program your HL.exe.....choose the demo(needs to be placed in the main cstrike folder) and push play.......

kedat 02-04-2004 13:05

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
1 Attachment(s)
After about 30min...

Whistler 02-04-2004 13:12

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
HERE's the fix fix fix!
Code:

void UTIL_ClampAngle (float *fAngle)
 {
    // Whistler, TEST your bugfixes before submitting them!!! :D
    if (*fAngle >= 180)
          *fAngle -= 360 * ((int) (*fAngle / 360) + 1); // and not 0.5
    if (*fAngle < -180)
          *fAngle += 360 * ((int) (-*fAngle / 360) + 1); // and not 0.5


Huh ? I'm using the 0.5 thing all the time in YaPB and it works all the time. Anyway the 0.5 is INSIDE the ().

Whistler 02-04-2004 14:34

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
...it's this:
Code:

    if (angle >= 180)
          angle -= 360 * (int)(angle / 360 + 0.5); // 0.5 is INSIDE the (int)(...)
    if (angle < -180)
          angle += 360 * (int)(-angle / 360 + 0.5); // 0.5 is INSIDE the (int)(...)

NOT THIS !
Code:

    if (angle >= 180)
          angle -= 360 * ((int)(angle / 360) + 0.5); // 0.5 is OUTSIDE the (int)(...) - WRONG
    if (angle < -180)
          angle += 360 * ((int)(-angle / 360) + 0.5); // 0.5 is OUTSIDE the (int)(...) - WRONG

:D


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.