.:: Bots United ::.

.:: Bots United ::. (http://forums.bots-united.com/index.php)
-   Releases, Installers, Docs & Coding (http://forums.bots-united.com/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   POD-bot back into shape. (http://forums.bots-united.com/showthread.php?t=833)

V or 'Tex 24-02-2004 15:41

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Can you fix the round-start detection, because thats what I assume is keeping the bots from buying anything. Either that or they are permenantly stuck in Pistol Mode.

eAnic 24-02-2004 18:59

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Ivpbot is bettet because it works with realbot.

DreamLord34 24-02-2004 19:20

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
I have IVPbot installed but never use it because it's not a metamod plugin.
How do I get it to load if I already have mEAN loading my metamod plugins from the liblist?

eAnic 24-02-2004 19:24

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
add this to the hlds startup command
+localinfo mm_gamedll ivpbot/ivpbot.so

DreamLord34 24-02-2004 19:35

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
The length of the command line doesn't matter does it?
With that one added it's pretty long.
it's already like this,
D:\hlserver2\hlds.exe +game cstrike +maxplayers 14 +map de_dust +localinfo mgamedll addons/metamod/dlls/metamod.dll +localinfo mm_gamedll ivpbot/ivpbot.dll
With that line added, it just closes.

[+Duracell-] 24-02-2004 20:11

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eAnic
Ivpbot is bettet because it works with realbot.

It does? I've tried many ways to get it to work on a listenserver and it never worked...

DreamLord34 24-02-2004 20:15

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
I can't get it to load on a dedicated.

wrck 25-02-2004 01:11

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eAnic
Ivpbot is bettet because it works with realbot.

how did u get them to both work? TELL ME!!!:D :D please.

I tried adding +localinfo stuff but that didnt work and crashed my game. I could get a good one on match and thats about it.:(




ooo yea.. shouldnt the waypoint folder be called wptdefault?

V or 'Tex 25-02-2004 01:17

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Okay, POD versus Realbot:

Realbot learns off of you and attempts to do things most other bots wouldn't think of... but usually it messes up when it includes elevation changes. Other than that, its pretty creative... The problems being:
~When under attack, it continues in whatever direction it previously held, very rarely turning around.
~Superhuman turn speed combined with a knack of knocking your head off, should it actually decide to turn around. Their view range is about a 120 degree arc and puts you at a disadvantage.
~Ladderclimbing and other elevation changes arent taken into account when nodes are made. Bots will make one jump, and fail to make the second or third, etc. They approach ladders like a human would, but once on the ladder they continue sideways and can often fall off.

PODBot problems:
~Waypoint mapping makes them inflexible
~Still not 1.6 compatible (not all the way at least)
~Little too slow to react, but at long ranges they are too accurate with weak weapons... unrealistic.

Pancak3 25-02-2004 01:20

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
mine works well. I have ivpbot with realbot. I just put gamedll ivpbot/ivpbot.dll in the metamod/config.ini. It works well but I want to get pb Podbots cuz it works with metamod. So im just waiting for pb podbots to work with realbot then ill get pd podbots :D

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 02:13

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Config.ini??? Do you mean the plugins.ini in the metamod folder???

Pancak3 25-02-2004 02:28

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
theres a config.ini also. I have a plugins.ini and a config.ini.

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 02:33

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
All I got is the plugins.ini & the dll folder. maybe you downloaded metamod seperately?
I got mine via adminmod then got stefen's metamod dll from his site for RB.

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 02:47

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Ok I tried making a config.ini in my metamod folder but that only caused a crash.

V or 'Tex 25-02-2004 02:49

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Create a plugin.ini for it.

What do you use for a config.ini that might be messing it up?

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 02:53

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Well, he said he had that line in the config.ini but there isn't one so I then thought maybe he downloaded the whole metamod package. That doesn't have a config.ini either.
How would it work in the plugins.ini when it's not a metamod plugin??
Just as I thought, it doesn't work from the plugins.ini file.
This is getting frustrating trying to get a bot to load with realbot.

Pancak3 25-02-2004 03:48

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
acctualy i have the real metamod not the one that stefan has.

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 03:55

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
I downloaded the one from metamod.org & there is no config.ini file with that either so where is it coming from?

Pancak3 25-02-2004 04:05

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
1 Attachment(s)
umm i got mine from the metamod.org also. Well i can give u mines

wrck 25-02-2004 04:11

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pancak3
umm i got mine from the metamod.org also. Well i can give u mines

I tried your config, but it still crashes

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 04:13

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Ok I'm still not getting anything even with that config file.
My ivpbot folder is at D:\hlserver2\cstrike\ivpbot.
As far as I can thell, that is right but never loads.

Whistler 25-02-2004 05:08

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Thanks again PM. Now this may be nice...
Code:

    if (m_iAimFlags < AIM_LASTENEMY)
    {
          // check if we're going through a door...
          UTIL_TraceLine(pev->origin, m_vecDestOrigin, ignore_monsters, edict(), &tr);
 
          if (tr.flFraction < 1.0 && !FNullEnt(tr.pHit))
          {
                  if (FClassnameIs(tr.pHit, "func_door") ||
                        FClassnameIs(tr.pHit, "func_door_rotating"))
                  {
                        // Always face the door when going through it
                        m_iAimFlags |= AIM_ENTITY;
                        // PMB: don't use the origin of the door
                        m_vecEntity = m_vecDestOrigin;
                        // If the door is near enough...
                        if (Length2(VecBModelOrigin(tr.pHit) - pev->origin) < 2500)
                        {
                            m_flNoCollTime = gpGlobals->time + 0.5; // don't consider being stuck
                            if (RANDOM_LONG(1, 100) < 50)
                                  pev->buttons |= IN_USE; // Also 'use' the door randomly
                        }
                  }
          }
    }


Pierre-Marie Baty 25-02-2004 06:57

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Okay lads, fixed a shitload of bugs again. It appears that I had *REALLY* rushed this version. Now that I have finally succeeded in running Steam on my machine I could test the bot and fix a few bugs. Here's the new changelog
Quote:

+ (some time later) GEEZ, looks like I had rushed this version. Back to it
again, and VERY ANGRY!!!
+ Rewrote the messy CS buy routines in a clean way at last
+ Fixed Count Floyd's experimental A* pathfinder. He was using no heuristic!!!
+ Fixed bots too shy, was linked to the absence of heuristic function. I wrote
a square distance heuristic (no sqrt involved. Fast and efficient)
+ Because of an important change in the way the pathfinder behaves, you should
delete all your .pxp files again, or use untouched .pxp files from PB 2.5
+ Fixed bots don't buy in CS 1.6 after the first round.
+ Fixed BotSpawnInit() calls zapping the bot's brains several times in a row
+ Fixed bots trying to pick up a new weapon without discarding the shield
+ Fixed VERY COMMON crash bugs in bot chat functions (ThreatTab index > 31)
+ Fixed yet another whole shitload of crash bugs on bad entities (w/ FNullEnt)
+ Got rid of the unused MOTD message catching
+ Bots now know when icons are blinking on their HUD: bomb, defuser, buy zone
+ Delayed bots buying so that they don't buy all in the same frame (lag issue)
+ Fixed bots having trouble at doors. Bot navigate doors perfectly now.
+ Bots pay much more attention to the mission goals now. They don't mess
around anymore doing idle stuff, they deploy and go to the goal.
+ Fixed bots getting stuck on ladders where a func_breakable would block them
+ Now using ServerActivate() instead of StartFrame() to catch map changes
+ The A* pathfinder should be faster now
+ Took the buying code out of the message queue. WTF was it doing there ???
+ Rewrote team/class selection function: 3 times shorter, twice as efficient.
+ Now the bot is pretty much more stable.
Get the new one at the same URL:
http://racc.bots-united.com/releases/podbot.zip

Sorry for all the fuss. I guess I should better go to bed now :)

Pancak3 25-02-2004 07:00

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
did u take out the +localinfo ivpbot/ivpbot.dll in your command line?

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 07:06

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Ok I changed the dll for mEAN & I assume IVPBot is loading via that configs.ini file as I now have RB learning from IVPBot.
With this new podbot.dll, will it & RB play nicely?

[+Duracell-] 25-02-2004 07:07

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
*snip*

So will this alleviate the Realbot/Podbot crashing when loaded at the same time, or is this a Realbot problem that stefan has to fix?

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 07:12

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Can someone test it to see if it still crashes?
I'm running IVP with RB at the moment reteaching RB.
Anyone have more waypoints for IVP I could use besides the default?

Pierre-Marie Baty 25-02-2004 07:19

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
I believe it's a RealBot problem... the test is simple: if it crashes in module podbot_mm.dll, it's a problem with the podbot code, but if it crashes in module realbot_mm.dll it's a RealBot problem and it's up to Stefan.

I'd be interested to know the results of this test :)

[+Duracell-] 25-02-2004 07:21

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pierre-Marie Baty
I believe it's a RealBot problem... the test is simple: if it crashes in module podbot_mm.dll, it's a problem with the podbot code, but if it crashes in module realbot_mm.dll it's a RealBot problem and it's up to Stefan.

I'd be interested to know the results of this test :)

You are correct...the Realbot dll is causing the crash, if I remember looking right

@Dreamlord, how are you getting Ivp and RB to run at the same time?

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 07:24

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Using a configs.ini in my metamod folder & also using mEAN. It wouldn't load before but since I changed the mean.dll to the mean_cs16.dll, they're working fine now.

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 07:25

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
RB must learn fast as one RBbot is in second place behind IVP so far.
Hey can someone maybe join my server to see how they're acting? I don't have a key so I can't
63.139.206.145:27015

[+Duracell-] 25-02-2004 07:28

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DreamLord34
Using a configs.ini in my metamod folder & also using mEAN. It wouldn't load before but since I changed the mean.dll to the mean_cs16.dll, they're working fine now.

I see...the Mean bot manager is like 9MB big tho...I'll do it at school or whatever

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 07:30

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Ya when I tried it loading ivp via that configs file,, nothing happend till I changed the mean dll.

heavensoul 25-02-2004 10:07

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
hey, so podbot_mm works fine with cs 1.5 ???

CoCoNUT 25-02-2004 10:16

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
Thx for this one, Pierre-Mary, the Bot works great with CS 1.6.:D

Pierre-Marie Baty 25-02-2004 11:07

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
It can work even better if you plug BotAim :)

http://racc.bots-united.com/releases/botaim_plugin.exe

Terran 25-02-2004 12:07

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
I've difficulties with this version at linux. My server crashes while loading the plugin:

warning: current_sos: Can't read pathname for load map: Input/output error

I even recompiled it for my system (which worked with the previous version)...

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 22:48

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
realbot still doesn't seem to like podbot though. Within 1 minute and 31 secs my server crashed as a result of the realbot_mm.dll failing.

Pierre-Marie Baty 25-02-2004 23:37

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
@Terran: weird, I made no changes to the Makefile relatively to the previous version... and no change in the code relative to the waypoint/config file paths... I'd be interested to know about other Linux users.

@DreamLord34: keep bugging that lazy Stefan, if you bash him long enough and keep kicking him in the butt, he might get out of his laziness and make the fixes I told him about :P :P :P :runs away:

DreamLord34 25-02-2004 23:45

Re: POD-bot back into shape.
 
hey Pierre, someone needs to! LOL
I'm still working with IVPbot/realbot atm


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.